NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


2022 Hall of Fame Game: Everything you need to know

NFL preseason begins this Thursday with the Jacksonville Jaguars taking on the Las Vegas Raiders in the 2022 Hall of Fame game in Canton, Ohio.


The wait is over - NFL season is finally here! It begins today, Thursday, August 4. As always, the preseason begins with the Hall of Fame game. This year, the Jacksonville Jaguars take on the Las Vegas Raiders at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio. The game starts at 8 p.m. ET but coverage will begin at 7 p.m. (Football Night in America on NBC and Peacock). Here is all the information you need to know going into the game.

About the teams in the 2022 Hall of Fame game

Of course, this is a preseason game, so we won’t be seeing a ton of starters on the field. The Jaguars have said that second-year quarterback Trevor Lawrence won’t be playing. The Raiders haven’t made their player announcements yet, but it’s safe to assume they won’t be playing their starters either.

The Raiders finished the 2021-22 season 10-7. They made it to the AFC Wild Card round of the playoffs but lost to the eventual Super Bowl contenders, the Cincinnati Bengals. The Jaguars didn’t have quite such a good season…they went 3-14 so their luck came in the 2022 draft instead. They picked outside linebacker Travon Walker first overall. After firing Urban Meyer, they hired Doug Pederson as head coach. Lots of changes to look forward to in Jacksonville.

The Jaguars haven’t played in a Hall of Fame game since 1995, the year of the team’s inception. The Raiders, on the other hand, will be playing in their fourth Hall of Fame game.

Who is in the Pro Football Hall of Fame 2022?

Tony Boselli, Tackle - Jacksonville Jaguars (1995-2001)

Cliff Branch, Wide Receiver - Oakland/LA Raiders (1972-1985) *Branch passed away in 2019

Leroy Butler, Safety - Green Bay Packers (1990-2001)

Sam Mills, Linebacker - New Orleans Saints (1986-1994), Carolina Panthers (1995-1997) *Mills passed away in 2005

Richard Seymour, Defensive End/Defensive Tackle - New England Patriots (2001-2008), Oakland Raiders (2009-2012)

Bryant Young, Defensive Tackle/Defensive End - San Francisco 49ers (1994-2007)

Dick Vermeil, Coach - Philadelphia Eagles (1976-1982), St. Louis Rams (1997-1999), Kansas City Chiefs (2001-2005)

Art McNally, NFL Official/Administrator - (1959-2015)

When is the 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame Ceremony?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022 will be officially inducted on Saturday, August 6. Coverage begins at 12 p.m. ET (ESPN and NFL Network).

Who decides who gets to be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

There is a board of 49 members in the Selection Committee. Amongst the 49 are one media representative for each NFL team’s city (there are two from the cities which have more than one NFL team) and 17 at-large Selectors, who are members of the media or actively involved in professional football.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?