Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


The AP Awards finalists, NFL MVP, OPOY, DPOY: Allen, Hurts, Mahomes, Jefferson, Burrow

Heading into the Championship Round, we have three of the five MVP finalists in action and this weekends’ games could determine who wins the award.

The NFL regular season has ended and there are some clear heroes on the teams left in the playoffs. Let’s look at top candidates in the 2022 MVP race.

The Associated Press has released their finalists for the NFL MVP, and a handful of other awards including the Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Championship Round stacked with MVP candidates

Josh Allen and Patrick Mahomes were the preseason favorites to win the MVP in the eyes of the oddsmakers, and both have made the shortlist to raise the award but only one of them is still in the playoffs. Mahomes and the Chiefs are moving on, but Josh Allen was knocked out of the playoffs last weekend by another MVP finalist, Joe Burrow and the Cincinnati Bengals.

Jalen Hurts will be taking on the San Francisco 49ers looking to strengthen his case for the MVP. As a starter he lost just one game, and with one more win he can bring Philadelphia back to the Super Bowl. The last finalist, who is the biggest long shot and the only non QB, is Vikings WR Justin Jefferson.

Jefferson, Hurts and Mahomes were also named as the nominees for the Offensive Player of the Year. This weekend will not just feature some of the best offensive players in the league. San Francisco’s Nick Bosa, and Kansas City’s Chris Jones join Dallas Defensive end Micah Parsons for the defensive player of the year.

Winners will be announced on Feb. 9th

The Niners head coach, Kyle Shanahan is joined by a couple of coaches who are in first year with their respective teams. Jacksonville’s Doug Pederson was picked up by the Jags in the offseason and led the Jags to the playoffs after having the worst record in the league last year. The New York Giants’ rookie head coach Brian Daboll turned things around in the Big Apple and carried his team to the post season for the first time in a long time.

The Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year awards has been narrowed down to three, just as the Comeback Player of the Year and Assistant Coach of the Year awards.

Here is the entire list of candidates for the eight awards up for grabs. The winners will be announced at the NFL Awards Ceremony on February 9th at 9:00 p.m. ET on NBC.


Josh Allen, Bills

Joe Burrow, Bengals

Jalen Hurts, Eagles

Justin Jefferson, Vikings

Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs

Offensive Player of the Year

Jalen Hurts, Eagles

Justin Jefferson, Vikings

Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs

Defensive Player of the Year

Nick Bosa, 49ers

Chris Jones, Chiefs

Micah Parsons, Cowboys

Comeback Player of the Year

Saquon Barkley, Giants

Christian McCaffrey, 49ers

Geno Smith, Seahawks

Coach of the Year

Brian Daboll, Giants

Doug Pederson, Jaguars

Kyle Shanahan, 49ers

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Brock Purdy, 49ers

Kenneth Walker, Seahawks

Garrett Wilson, Jets

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Jets

Aidan Hutchinson, Lions

Tariq Woolen, Seahawks

Assistant Coach of the Year

Ben Johnson, Lions OC

DeMeco Ryans, 49ers DC

Shane Steichen, Eagles OC