NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Nadal, Djokovic and Federer: who has won the most times at Wimbledon and how many Grand Slam events have they won?

Roger Federer is the tennis player who has won the most times at Wimbledon. Djokovic follows him in the standings, while Rafa Nadal has only won twice.

Edited by C Roche
Nadal, Djokovic and Federer: who has won the most times at Wimbledon and how many Grand Slam events have they won?
Getty Images

The trio formed of Rafa Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer has marked a period that will be difficult for tennis lovers to forget. The three have become the players who have won the most Grand Slam tournaments in history, those made up of the Opens in Australia, France and the United States, and, of course, England’s very own grass-court major, known simply as Wimbledon.

Wimbledon: a major like no other

Nadal leads the overall standings, with 22, while Federer and Djokovic have 20. The Swiss was the first to reach 20 championships in 2018 after winning the Australian Open, but since then he has not returned to his relentless winning ways.

Wimbledon is the third Grand Slam tournament to be played each year after the Australian Open and Roland Garros. Nadal has been crowned the ‘king of clay courts’ but it is Federer who is the ‘king of Wimbledon’, as evidenced by his eight titles in London, one more on this stage than US star of the 1990s, Pete Sampras. Djokovic has won at the All-England club six times, while Nadal has only won there twice. The first one was in 2008 against Federer and the second, in 2010 against Tomas Berdych.

You may also enjoy:

When we talk about this British championship it is inevitable not to think about the charismatic Swiss star. Five of his eight came consecutively. The first Grand Slam tournament win of his career was at Wimbledon in 2003. At just 21 years old, Federer lifted the trophy after beating Mark Philippoussis. A year later, he won again, this time against Roddick 4-6, 7-5, 7-6, 6-4.

In 2005, the grass-court lover continued his winning streak after beating the American Roddick again (6-2, 7-6, 6-4). In 2006 and 2007, it was Rafa Nadal who was defeated by the man from Basel. Later, his victories against Andy Roddick (2009), Murray (2012) and Cilic (2017) put him above everyone else.

List of Grand Slam events won by Rafa Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic

PlayerTitlesAustralian OpenFrench OpenWimbledonUS Open
Rafa Nadal2221424
Roger Federer206185
Novak Djokovic209263

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?