Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Rugby World Cup 2023: How much money does the winner get?

The tenth Rugby World Cup is in its finals weekend in France, with New Zealand going against South Africa to win the record fourth title on October 28.

South Africa captain Francois Pienaar receives the William Webb Ellis Trophy from Nelson Mandela
Ross Kinnaird - EMPICSDiarioAS

The curtain is closing on the tenth Rugby World Cup finals on Saturday (October 28) in Paris as the ‘All Blacks’ go up against the “Springboks” in the final game at Saint-Denis.

The Webb Ellis Cup, awarded to the winner of the Rugby World Cup, has been won multiple times by South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, and England.

Rugby Union World Cup trophy, the Webb Ellis Cup
Full screen
Rugby Union World Cup trophy, the Webb Ellis CupANNE-CHRISTINE POUJOULATAFP

South Africa and New Zealand lead the pack with three victories each and are both vying to win the trophy for the fourth time - a record-breaking achievement. Meanwhile, Australia has clinched the trophy twice, and England came out victorious in the 2003 tournament.

Rugby World Cup: prize money

The governing body behind the competition, World Rugby, has never announced the official prize money at stake for the winners. However, it was reported in 2019 that the prize money for the Rugby World Cup was around $400,000. Still, it was also reported in the UK-based daily The Telegraph that the Rugby Football Union (RFU) was also staking an internal bonus pot of £7 million should England go on to win the World Cup final.

Rugby World Cup: winners

1987- New Zealand
1991- Australia
1995- South Africa
1999- Australia
2003 – England
2007- South Africa
2011- New Zealand
2015- New Zealand
2019- South Africa