NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What is the process to be elected to the International Boxing Hall of Fame?

The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2023 which will see Timothy Bradley, Jr. and Carl Froch inducted

The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2023 which will see Timothy Bradley, Jr. and Carl Froch inducted

The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2023 on Wednesday which will see a selection of the sport’s finest men and women inducted. Among the class are four-time world Light Heavyweight champion Carl “The Cobra” Froch and four-time world Light Welterweight champion Timothy Bradley, Jr.

In the women’s category, Jamaican former Featherweight, Bantamweight, and Super Bantamweight world champion Alicia Ashley will accompany Mexican former world Featherweight champion Laura Serrano in their induction.

The International Boxing Hall of Fame is located in Canastota, New York and sets out to honor the greatest boxers, trainers and contributors to the sport from around the world. A fighter is eligible for induction five years after their last professional bout, with selection being carried out by members of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

Carl “The Cobra” Froch

Known as one of the most solid-jawed fighters to ever grace the canvas, Carl Froch was only off his feet twice in his storied career, amateur and professional. The first came when Jermain Taylor put him down in the third round of their bout and then again when when George Groves caught him square with a right hand in the first round. In both cases, Froch climbed off the canvas to come back and get the stoppage to win the fight.

The Groves rematch at Wembley Stadium was conducted in front of 80,000 fans who witnessed Froch provide one of the sweetest right cross knockouts in history.

Froch lost only two bouts in his career, both by decision to Mikkel Kessler and Andre Ward. Kessler came back and allowed Froch another bite at the apple, one which the Cobra used to his advantage when the two men put on a barnstormer of a display in London’s O2 Arena where the decision this time went Froch’s way.

Upon being informed of his induction, Froch said, “Boxing is the best sport in the world. It tests everything in a man and a woman. The mentality, discipline, grit, determination, heart, desire, everything is all in that ring and it is just you on your own with your opponent. For me to be inducted with the greatest of all time from every weight division is just fantastic! I’m grateful to be recognized.”

Timothy “Desert Storm” Bradley, Jr.

The Ring Magazine had Timothy Bradley, Jr. at his prime as the third best pound-for-pound fighter in the world, and with the level of competition that he took down, it is easy to see why. Best known for his trilogy against Manny Pacquiao, Bradley also stood in against, and defeated, some of the biggest names in boxing.

With only two losses and one draw in his career, Bradley was a pugilist as much as a puncher, getting 20 of his 33 wins by decision. He outboxed Junior Witter, Lamont Peterson, and Manny Pacquiao before suffering his first defeat at the hands of the Philippine legend in the rematch.

He then went on to fight Jessie Vargas and Brandon Rios, who he stopped in the ninth round with a barrage of punches that saw the Tony Weeks step in, before once again facing Pacquiao. Seen by many as the best of the three fights between the men, Pac-Man won by unanimous decision in what would turn out to be the last professional bout by Bradley.

Being told that he was in the 2023 class, Bradley said, “This is one of the greatest days of my life. I appreciate this so much. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I’m ecstatic and don’t really know what to say. This is everything I wanted and everything I worked for. I’m full of emotions and there are so many things going through my mind from my past that got me to this point. This is a dream come true. This is my heaven, the International Boxing Hall of Fame.”

Induction ceremony June 8-11, 2023

Canastota, NY will welcome the newest members of the International Boxing Hall of Fame with a schedule of events over the weekend of June 8-11, 2023, which will include ringside talks, fist casting, fight night, a 5K fun run, boxing autograph card show, banquet, parade and the induction ceremony over the four days.

Full list of 2023 inductees


  • Tiger Jack Fox (Light Heavyweight)
  • Pone Kingpetch (Flyweight)
  • JoAnn Hagen (women’s trailblazer)

Men’s Modern

  • Timothy Bradley, Jr. (Light Welterweight)
  • Carl Froch (Light Heavyweight)
  • Rafael Marquez (Bantamweight, Featherweight)

Women’s Modern

  • Alicia Ashley (Bantamweight, Featherweight)
  • Laura Serrano (Featherweight)


  • Brad Goodman (matchmaker)
  • Joe Goossen (trainer)
  • Brad Jacobs (promotional executive)


  • Seth Abraham (TV executive)
  • Tim Ryan (broadcaster)

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?