Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which team has won the most Ryder Cups? List of winners year by year

The Ryder Cup is a biennial golf competition between the USA and Europe, featuring exciting and competitive matches with a rich history.

The Ryder Cup is a biennial golf competition between the USA and Europe, featuring exciting and competitive matches with a rich history.
Getty Images

The Ryder Cup is a celebrated golfing event steeped in history that takes place every two years. The competition is renowned for its fiercely competitive spirit and sportsmanship. Here’s a brief rundown of the Ryder Cup’s fascinating history. The Ryder Cup was first conceived by Samuel Ryder, an English professional golfer, in 1921. The idea came to him after watching a match between British and American golfers, and he decided to donate a gold trophy to be contested between the two sides.

When was the first Ryder Cup held?

The first Ryder Cup was held in 1927 at Worcester Country Club in Massachusetts, USA. It was a battle between a team of American and British professionals, with the United States emerging as the winner. In the early years, the Ryder Cup was primarily dominated by the United States. The American team held the trophy firmly during the 1930s and 1940s.

USA vs Europe: 1979 format change

In 1979, the Ryder Cup format was expanded to include players from continental Europe, not just the British Isles. This change was made to make the competition more exciting and reflect the growing strength of European golf. Including European players made the Ryder Cup a more closely contested event. The 1985 Ryder Cup marked the first European victory since the team’s expansion.

The Ryder Cup is currently contested by teams of 12 golfers representing the United States and Europe. It features a variety of match play formats, including foursomes, four-ball, and singles matches, spread over three days of competition. The Ryder Cup alternates between the United States and European venues every two years, and hosting the event has become a matter of great pride for golf clubs and regions. The Ryder Cup’s impact extends beyond the golf course. It attracts fans from both sides of the Atlantic and showcases the camaraderie and competitive spirit of the sport. It has also raised awareness about golf and its sociological impact on communities.

Which team is the more successful one?

The Ryder Cup is an await with enthusiasm in the world of golf, known for its passionate fans, dramatic moments, and the sense of national pride it evokes. The United States team has secured victory in the Ryder Cup 26 times, making it the most successful team in the competition’s history. But in recent years, Europe has been strong, including winning it back in 2023.

Ryder Cup Winners: The Full List

  • 1927: USA (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1929: Great Britain (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1931: USA (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1933: Great Britain (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1935: USA (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1937: USA (Captain: Walter Hagen)
  • 1947: USA (Captain: Ben Hogan)
  • 1949: USA (Captain: Ben Hogan)
  • 1951: USA (Captain: Sam Snead)
  • 1953: USA (Captain: Lloyd Mangrum)
  • 1955: USA (Captain: Chick Harbert)
  • 1957: Great Britain (Captain: Jack Burke Jr.)
  • 1959: USA (Captain: Sam Snead)
  • 1961: USA (Captain: Jerry Barber)
  • 1963: USA (Captain: Arnold Palmer)
  • 1965: USA (Captain: Byron Nelson)
  • 1967: USA (Captain: Ben Hogan)
  • 1969: Tied (USA retains, Captain: Sam Snead)
  • 1971: USA (Captain: Jay Hebert)
  • 1973: USA (Captain: Jack Burke Jr.)
  • 1975: USA (Captain: Arnold Palmer)
  • 1977: USA (Captain: Dow Finsterwald)
  • 1979: USA (Captain: Billy Casper)
  • 1981: USA (Captain: Dave Marr)
  • 1983: USA (Captain: Jack Nicklaus)
  • 1985: Europe (Captain: Lee Trevino)
  • 1987: Europe (Captain: Jack Nicklaus)
  • 1989: Tied (Europe retains, Captain: Raymond Floyd)
  • 1991: USA (Captain: Dave Stockton)
  • 1993: USA (Captain: Tom Watson)
  • 1995: Europe (Captain: Lanny Wadkins)
  • 1997: Europe (Captain: Tom Kite)
  • 1999: USA (Captain: Ben Crenshaw)
  • 2002: Europe (Captain: Curtis Strange)
  • 2004: Europe (Captain: Hal Sutton)
  • 2006: Europe (Captain: Tom Lehman)
  • 2008: USA (Captain: Paul Azinger)
  • 2010: Europe (Captain: Corey Pavin)
  • 2012: Europe (Captain: Davis Love III)
  • 2014: Europe (Captain: Tom Watson)
  • 2016: USA (Captain: Davis Love III)
  • 2018: Europe (Captain: Jim Furyk)
  • 2021: USA (Captain: Steve Stricker)
  • 2023: Europe (Captain: Luke Donald)