NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who are the past winners of Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament?

The Muirfield Village Golf Club and the Memorial Tournament have been the stage for numerous golfers to leave their legacy by achieving multiple victories.

Billy Horschel - Memorial Tournament

Dubbed one of the premier events in the world of golf, the Memorial Tournament takes place annually in late May or early June. Renowned for attracting the most prominent names in the sport, this tournament holds significant prestige and boasts a generous purse, along with valuable FedEx Cup points.

This year, the 2023 Memorial Tournament presents a staggering purse of $20 million, with the winner’s portion amounting to an impressive $3.6 million. These figures rank the event among the top six tournaments with the highest prize pools out of the 47 official PGA Tour competitions.


Utilizing a four-round stroke play format, the tournament introduces a cut after the second round to determine which players will advance to the weekend rounds. Distinctive among PGA Tour events, the Memorial Tournament is granted “invitational” status, joining an exclusive group of only five tournaments. Consequently, participation is limited to a field of 120 players.

As the 2023 Memorial Tournament approaches, it marks the 48th edition of the event, initially founded by golf legend Jack Nicklaus in 1976. This prestigious gathering serves as a heartfelt tribute to the sport’s revered figures, each year featuring a different honoree celebrated for their contributions to golf.

Esteemed past winners of Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament

When examining the tournament’s rich history, several golfers have left an indelible mark by claiming multiple victories. Tiger Woods dominates the list with five remarkable wins, securing the title in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2009, and 2012. Following closely behind, Kenny Perry boasts three victories, triumphing in 1991, 2003, and 2008. Meanwhile, Jack Nicklaus, Hale Irwin, Greg Norman, and Tom Watson each have two Memorial Tournament victories to their credit, achieved in different years throughout their illustrious careers.

Notably, Tiger Woods holds the record for the largest margin of victory, an astounding seven strokes, accomplished in his triumphant performance during the 2001 edition of the tournament.

The Memorial Tournament champions in the last ten years

2022Billy Horschel275−13
2021Patrick Cantlay275−13
2020Jon Rahm279−9
2019Patrick Cantlay269−19
2018Bryson DeChambeau273−15
2017Jason Dufner275−13
2016William McGirt273−15
2015David Lingmerth273−15
2014Hideki Matsuyama275−13
2013Matt Kuchar276−12