NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who has won the Australian Open more times Federer, Nadal or Djokovic?

Novak Djokovic beat Stefanos Tsitsipas in the Australian Open men’s finals on Sunday, and the Serbian has set new records with the victory.

Novak Djokovic will face Stefanos Tsitsipas in the Australian Open men’s finals on Sunday, and the Serbian is poised to set new records with a victory.

Novak Djokovic has added to his previous count of 21 career grand slam titles to tie Rafael Nadal’s world record of 22 after beating Stefanos Tsitsipas in the men’s final of the 2023 Australian Open at Rod Laver Arena.

The tournament holds a special significance for Djokovic. Fifteen years ago, he won his first-ever grand slam title in Melbourne when he defeated Jo Wilfried-Songa in four sets.


The success of Djokovic in this contest is unparalleled. Since that first victory as a 20-year-old, the Serbian has gone on to dominate the first grand slam event of the year, now claiming a total of 10 titles. This number is the most ever won by any player for both men and women. Only Rafael Nadal’s record of 14 wins at the French Open is higher for a grand slam event.

Djokovic won the championship in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021 and now 2023.

Federer and Nadal’s Australian Open performance

Roger Federer also chalked up many triumphs in the Australian Open, winning the trophy six times. This number puts him in second place after Djokovic. The Swiss was victorious in the years 2004, 2006,2007, 2010, 2017, and 2018.

Nadal has met with the least success in this tournament among the Big Three, winning it twice. He first won in 2009, and it took him thirteen years to rack up his second victory, when he beat Daniil Medvedev in a five-set final last year.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?