NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who has won the most Grand Slams? Nadal, Djokovic, Federer…

Novak Djokovic has tied Rafael Nadal’s record of 22 Grand Slam wins with his 10th Australian Open title after muscling past Stefanos Tsitsipas.

Nadal is the undisputed leader with 22 grand slam wins, and even though Djokovic is hard on his heels, Federer must settle for third place after retirement.

In a sport like tennis, where the attention is intensely on the individual, surviving a world-class knockout event is no easy achievement.

Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, and Rafael Nadal are the top three winners of all time

Federer has won 20, and Djokovic’s victory at Melbourne has propelled him into a dead heat with Spaniard Rafael Nadal, with both having 22 Grand Slam championships to their name. While Djoko is a master of the hard court, the kingdom that Rafa reigns over is the clay court, with an astounding fourteen of his titles coming in the French Open.

See also:

The three men have been the dominating force for well over a decade, and it is still a matter of heated argument as to which of them is the best of their era, if not of all time, considering that they all hold different records.

By winning the French Open once more in 2020, the 36-year-old Nadal tied Federer with 20 grand slam titles. No player has been as dominating at a major tournament as the Spaniard in Paris, where he has won 14 titles.

Federer is an older statesman at 41 years old. He was the first male player to win 20 major singles championships and has reached more grand slam semi-finals (46) and quarter-finals (58) than any other male player during the Open era.

Djokovic continues to pursue all of their records, though. The 35-year-old is used to playing catch-up with Federer and Nadal, and in 2021, he tied them with 20 championships after winning the Australian Open, French Open, and Wimbledon.

The winners of most Grand Slams:

  • Rafael Nadal - 22
  • Novak Djokovic - 22
  • Roger Federer - 20
  • Pete Sampras - 14
  • Roy Emerson - 12
  • Rod Laver - 11
  • Bjorn Borg - 11
  • Bill Tilden - 10
  • Jimmy Connors - 8
  • Fred Perry - 8
  • Andre Agassi - 8
  • Ivan Lendl - 8
  • Ken Rosewall - 8

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?