NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup: Where is it and what teams are playing?

A proving ground for stars such as Marta, Alexandra Popp, Asisat Oshoala and Patri Guijarro, the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup is underway in Costa Rica.

Costa Rica plays host to delayed 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup

The 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup kicked off in Costa Rica on 10 August, the 10th edition of the tournament since its inception in 2002 (when it was restricted to under-19 players, the switch to under-20 coming in 2008). Costa Rica were due to stage the 2020 tournament but it was postponed due to the covid-19 pandemic. The host nation enjoyed plenty of support as they took on Australia in the opener, 22,500 spectators filling the Estadio Nacional in San José with colour, but Costa Rica were beaten 3-1. Games have been played in Groups A and B so far, with C and D to follow on Thursday and Friday.

FIFA U20 World Cup: participating teams

The tournament follows a four-group format, with four teams in each. The top two teams from each progress to the quarterfinals, which will be played on 20 and 21 August. The semifinals follow on 25 August with the final at the Estadio Nacional on 28 August. The other stadium hosting games is the Estadio Alejandro Morera Soto in Alajuela.

Group A: Costa Rica, Australia, Spain, Brazil

Group B: Colombia, Mexico, New Zealand, Germany

Group C: France, Nigeria, Canada, South Korea

Group D: Japan (defending champions), Netherlands, Ghana, USA

Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica ahead of Spain vs Brazil on August 10, 2022 in San José, Costa Rica.
Full screen
Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica ahead of Spain vs Brazil on August 10, 2022 in San José, Costa Rica. Buda Mendes - FIFAGetty

FIFA U20 World Cup: previous winners

Only four nations have won the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup. Japan are the defending champions after beating Spain 3-1 in the final of the 2018 tournament in France. North Korea have won the tournament twice (2016, 2006). The USWNT (2002, 2008, 2012) and Germany (2004, 2010, 2014) jointly hold the record for the most wins.

Over the years the tournament has served as a springboard for some of the biggest stars in women’s football. Among the winners of the Golden Boot are Christine Sinclair (2002), Alexandra Popp (2010), Asisat Oshoala (2014) and Patri Guijarro (2018), while Marta won the Golden Ball in 2004 and Dzsenifer Marozsán claimed the award in 2012.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?