Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

2026 WORLD CUP

Brazil-Argentina, standout game of matchday 6 of CONMEBOL World Cup qualifiers

Following Brazil and Argentina suffering surprise defeats in matchday 5, the two South American powerhouses go head-to-head in Rio.

Update:
(FILES) In this file photo taken on November 16, 2021, Brazil's Fred (L) and Argentina's Giovani Lo Celso
JUAN MABROMATAAFP

It seems an impossibility that neither Brazil or Argentina will take their places at the expanded, 48 team 2026 World Cup. Six teams from the CONMEBOL group of ten automatically advance to the co-hosted Mexico-Canada and US tournament with the seventh placed team being offered a life-line of a inter-confederation playoff. So, despite the fact that we can safely assume both the Albiceleste and Seleçao will progress, a meeting between the two South American powerhouses is always a spicy occasion and their Estadio Maracanã clash on Tuesday night is undoubtedly the glamour fixture of matchday six in the CONMEBOL qualifiers with the action in Rio starting at 7:30 pm (ET) / 4:30 pm (PT).

Lionel Messi is expected to start against a Brazil side looking to bounce back from defeat to Colombia with the home side hoping that Real Madrid bound Endrick can fill the boots of the injured Vinicius Jr.

Brazil
Full screen
BrazilCBFDiarioAS

Uruguay, who currently occupy second place in the qualifying group face Bolivia in Montevideo and could top the group with a win and an Argentine loss in Rio de Janeiro.

Colombia, the only unbeaten side in the group to date open the action as they face Paraguay at the 50,000 capacity Estadio Defensores del Chaco in Asunción with the action getting underway at 6pm (ET) / 3pm (PT).

Colombia's forward Luis Diaz
Full screen
Colombia's forward Luis DiazJUAN BARRETOAFP

Venezuela are gunning for their first ever appearance at a World Cup with the Vinotinto currently the surprise package of the qualifying campaign as they sit in fourth spot on eight points. Matchday six, sees Fernando Batista’s side travel to winless Peru.

CONMEBOL matchday six: fixtures and kick-off times

Paraguay vs Colombia (Asuncion) 6pm (ET) / 3pm (PT)
Uruguay vs Bolivia (Montevideo) 6:30 pm (ET) / 3:30 pm (PT)
Ecuador vs Chile (Quito) 6:30 pm (ET) / 3:30 pm (PT)
Brazil vs Argentina (Rio de Janeiro) 7:30 pm (ET) / 4:30 pm (PT)
Peru vs Venezuela (Lima) 9 pm (ET) / 6 pm (PT)