Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


CONMEBOL confirm venues for 2024 Copa America opening and final games

The 48th edition of the Copa America will be staged in the United States with the action getting underway on 20 June and winds up on 14 July.

Miami será sede de la final de la Copa América; Atlanta tendrá el juego inaugural

CONMEBOL have confirmed the venues for the opening and final of the 2024 Copa America which will be staged in United States next year with the opening game scheduled on 20 June and the action coming to a conclusion with the final on 14 July 2024.

The opening match will be staged at the home of MLS side Atlanta United who share the Mercedes-Benz Stadium with NFL’s Atlanta Falcons. The ground has a capacity of 71,000 spectators and has hosted high profile sporting events in the past such as the Super Bowl LIII and the College Football Playoff National Championship game in 2018.

A crowded Mercedes-Benz Stadium during the second half of a NFL American football game
Full screen
A crowded Mercedes-Benz Stadium during the second half of a NFL American football game ERIK S. LESSEREFE

The pitch is currently an astroturf surface and this will be replaced when the Copa America comes to town next summer.

Miami final

The Copa America final will be played on Sunday, 14 July at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The stadium boasts a capacity of 65,300 fans and is home to NFL team Miami Dolphins and also hosts University of Miami, Orange Blossom Classic and Orange Bowl college football games.

16 participants

The teams participating at the competition will be the 10 CONMEBOL nations (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela) plus six guest nations invited from CONCACAF. These will include the four winners of the Nations League plus two wild card winners.

Colombia's midfielder James Rodriguez
Full screen
Colombia's midfielder James Rodriguez JUAN BARRETOAFP

CONCACAF teams for Copa América 2024

While the specific CONCACAF nations set to participate are yet to be finalised, we do know that the six tickets will come from the following eight: United States, Mexico, Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Honduras, and Jamaica. These teams will battle it out in the quarter-finals of the CONCACAF Nations League during November.