Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

EURO 2024

Euro 2024 qualifying play-off draw: teams, fixtures, hosts, dates…

21 of the 24 participants for the tournament in Germany are already known, with 12 teams vying for the remaining three spots.

21 of the 24 participants for the tournament in Germany are already known, with 12 teams vying for the remaining three spots.

The last international break of 2023 has come and gone, with anticipation starting to build head of the 2024 European Championship, which will be held in Germany in June and July next summer. 21 of the 24 participants are now known, with 12 teams to battle it out for the remaining three spots via the Euro 2024 qualifying playoffs.

Which teams have qualified for Euro 2024?

As hosts, Germany have been in since the word go, while all of Europe’s elite have safety booked their places at the finals. Poland and Ukraine, who joint hosted Euro 2012, are arguably the biggest names yet to have sealed qualification, but both still have an opportunity to do so.

At the other end of the spectrum, Albania will feature in just their second ever European Championship, while World Cup regulars Serbia, incredibly enough, hadn’t qualified since they appeared as Yugoslavia all the way back in 2000.

20 teams qualified directly from the main qualifying group stage, with the top two countries from each group securing their spots in the finals.

Euro 2024 qualifiers

Pot 1

  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • France
  • Spain
  • Belgium
  • England

Pot 2

  • Hungary
  • Denmark
  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Turkey
  • Romania

Pot 3

  • Scotland
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Czech Republic
  • Netherlands
  • Croatia

Pot 4

  • Serbia
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Playoff path A
  • Playoff path B
  • Playoff path C

Which teams have qualified for the playoffs?

The play-offs are theoretically the group winners from Leagues A, B and C of the 2022-23 UEFA Nations League, although most of those teams have qualified for Euro 2024 through the group stage and therefore don’t require a play-off.

As a result, the group winners have been replaced by the next-best ranked country in their league that hasn’t qualified via the group stage, which means even Estonia, who played in League D teams, have an opportunity to reach the finals.

Teams qualified for the Euro 2024 playoffs

  • Poland
  • Wales
  • Israel
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Finland
  • Ukraine
  • Iceland
  • Georgia
  • Greece 
  • Kazakhstan
  • Luxembourg
  • Estonia

How do the Euro 2024 playoffs work?

The 12 play-off participants have been split into three paths of four teams. In each path, there will be two single-leg semi-finals on Tuesday 21 March, with the winners progressing to a one-off final on Sunday 26 March. The three victorious countries will complete the line-up for Euro 2024.

Euro 2024 qualifying playoff draw

Teams named first will play as hosts.

Path A

Semi-finals (21 March 2024)

  • Poland vs Estonia
  • Wales vs Finland

Final (26 March 2024)

  • Wales/Finland vs Poland/Estonia

Path B

Semi-finals (21 March 2024)

  • Israel vs Iceland
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Ukraine

Final (26 March 2024)

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina/Ukraine vs Israel/Iceland

Path C

Semi-finals (21 March 2024)

  • Georgia vs Luxembourg
  • Greece vs Kazakhstan

Final (26 March 2024)

  • Georgia/Luxembourg vs Greece/Kazakhstan