Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many teams have been crowned Liga MX champions with a second leg home advantage?

The first leg of the Clausura 2023 final ended goalless. After a draw, history has favoured the teams who play the second leg at their stadium.

Ciudad de México
The first leg of the Clausura 2023 final ended goalless. After a draw, history has favoured the teams who play the second leg at their stadium.

Clausura 2023 finalists Tigres and Chivas face each other again in the final series, six years after their last meeting. There was a lot of expectation in the days leading up to last night’s first leg with some predicting a high-scoring game - or least some goals. But it ended 0-0 at Estadio Universitario to leave emotions reserved for Sunday’s return leg at Akron Stadium.

In the history of the short tournament format, a total of 18 finals have ended level after the first leg, and prior to this Sunday’s deciding game in Guadalajara, the statistics favour the locals - 12 teams have been crowned champions after a draw in the first leg with the return played played at their stadium. Only on six occasions has the away team prevailed to lift the trophy whenever the first leg has ended level.

But anything can happen in football and Tigres will be heartened in the knowledge that they know how it feels to be crowned champions in someone else’s back yard. In the 2017 Apertura, they drew 1-1 against Monterrey in the first leg at home, then travelled to Guadalupe where they broke Rayada fans’ hearts, winning the return leg 1-2 with goals from Eduardo Vargas and Francisco Meza to deny their eternal rival on home turf.

Chivas however, will remember what happened when they won their last title (the Clausura 2017) - the one which has drawn several comparisons to this season. The first leg finished 2-2 and their home advantage was made to count when the final was decided in Guadalajara, where they won 2-1 to lift the trophy 4-3 on aggregate.

Liga MX finals in which the first leg ended level

  • Winter 1997: Chivas champion at home
  • Winter 1998: visiting champion Necaxa
  • Summer 1999: Toluca champion at home
  • Winter 1999: Pachuca visiting champion
  • Clausura 2004: Pumas champion at home
  • Clausura 2005: América champion at home
  • Apertura 2005: Toluca visiting champion
  • Clausura 2006: Pachuca champion at home
  • Apertura 2006: Chivas visiting champion
  • Apertura 2007: Atlante champion at home
  • Bicentennial 2010: Toluca champion at home
  • Clausura 2011: Pumas champion at home
  • Clausura 2012: Santos champion at home
  • Apertura 2016: Tigres champion at home
  • Clausura 2017: Chivas champion at home
  • Apertura 2017: Tigres visiting champion
  • Apertura 2018: América (administratively) visiting champion
  • Guardians 2020: León champion at home