NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many times have Liverpool FC won the Premier League?

Liverpool have challenged Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City since Jürgen Klopp arrived at the Premier League club in 2015.

Kieran Quaile
LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - JULY 22: (THE SUN ON SUNDAY OUT) . Liverpool Champions of the Premier League match between Liverpool FC and Chelsea FC at Anfield on July 22, 2020 in Liverpool, England. (Photo by John Powell/Liverpool FC via Getty Images)
John PowellLiverpool FC via Getty Images

Since the Premier League began in 1992, seven clubs have won the title. The most dominant team in Premier League history is Manchester United, who haven’t won the league title since 2013. Between 1992 and 2013, United lifted the trophy on 13 occasions under former manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Chelsea had their impressive spell under Jose Mourinho, too. The Portuguese arrived at the London club as the ‘Special One’ in 2004 after lifting the Champions League with Porto and brought immediate success to Stamford Bridge. In 2004/05, Mourinho helped guide Chelsea to the title after the club spent big on players like Didier Drogba.

In the 1994/95 season, Blackburn Rovers, inspired by Alan Shearer, finished top of the table, edging past Manchester United by three points to become champions of England. Rovers currently find themselves in the Championship, having been relegated from the top flight in 2012.

The most remarkable Premier League story happened in 2016 as Claudio Ranieri took massive outsiders Leicester City to Premier League glory for the first time in the club’s history.

How many times has Liverpool won the Premier League?

The majority of Liverpool’s success as a club came in the 1970s and 80s, with domestic and European glory at Anfield. That included 18 top division titles. The Premier League years were a struggle for a club so used to lifting trophies until the arrival of a certain Jürgen Klopp to Merseyside.

The German coach turned the club’s fortunes around with the help of smart recruitment and clever investments. In 2019/20, Klopp lifted his first Premier League title with Liverpool, their only title since the Premier League began in 1992.

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City have been the dominant side in the league in recent years. City, who take on Liverpool today, have won three titles in the last four years. Their first league title came in 2011/12, as Sergio Agüero scored an unforgettable 94th minute winner against QPR to snatch the title from Manchester United’s hands.

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola during his side's win over Atlético Madrid
Full screen
Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola during his side's win over Atlético MadridCRAIG BROUGHREUTERS

Liverpool challenge City for title

Liverpool and Man City have gone toe-to-toe in recent years. Only one point separates the two sides in terms of Premier League points collected since the start of the 2018/19 season, City having 355 points to Liverpool’s 354.

As things stand, with just the final game of the season remaining, Guardiola’s City have 90 points from 37 games played and Klopp’s team have picked up 89 points. Two truly remarkable teams, but only one can top the league.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?