Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


LAFC out of Concacaf Champions Cup

With defeat in the MLS Cup, Steve Cherundolo’s team was eliminated from the Concacaf Champions Cup. New England Revolution is the beneficiary.

LAFC se queda fuera de la Concacaf Champions Cup
Aaron DosterUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Columbus Crew won the MLS Cup on Saturday night, beating LAFC 2-1, the west coast side who were aiming to start to build a dynasty as two-time champions of the North American soccer competition, but found themselves up against a well-worked team that outdid them in terms of commitment.

However, the side from Los Angeles not only missed out on the opportunity to make a mark in the MLS history books, but also suffered a double blow, with their defeat meaning they are out of the Concacaf Champions Cup, despite having been in the MLS grand final.

Ten MLS teams got their ticket to the Concacaf Champions Cup: Columbus Crew (MLS Champion), Houston Dynamo (US Open Cup Champion), FC Cincinnati (Supporter’s Shield Champion), St Louis City FC (Champion of the other conference), Orlando City (best placed in the general table of the MLS 2023), New England Revolution (second best placed in the general table), in addition to the three that achieved their ticket in the Leagues Cup (Inter Miami, Nashville SC and Philadelphia Union), as well as the Canadian champion (Vancouver Whitecaps).

LA fail to book their ticket

Thus ends LAFC’s season, having lost the three finals they played in: the Concacaf Champions League (against León), the Campeones Cup (Tigres) and the MLS Cup (Columbus Crew).

At the beginning of June, the Californian side were up in their first final of the year. After losing the first leg in León, Cherundolo’s team failed to turn things around and were beaten 0-1 at home for a 3-1 aggregate score in favor of the Mexican club.

On September 27, the second final of the season came for the then reigning MLS champion. Once again the BMO Stadium was the stage for the Black & Gold looking to add more silverware, but the Tigres won on penalties after a goalless draw in regulation time.

Finally, Saturday saw another disappointment for the fans of the 2018-founded team. In search of being the first two-time champions since the LA Galaxy (2011-2012), they were beaten by the Columbus Crew to end a season that was so close to being truly historic.