Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Liga MX announces the nominees for the 2022-2023 Mexican Golden Ball

The top players of the Apertura 2022 and Clausura 2023 were announced today with the winner being revealed at the end of the month.

Ciudad de México
Liga MX announces the nominees for the 2022-2023 Mexican Golden Ball

Liga MX and the clubs involved all continue with announcements, movement and activities in the transition period between the Clausura 2023 and the Apertura 2023. Today, through a statement, the competition organisers announced the players that have been nominated for the Golden Ball for their performances in the 2022-2023 season.

The players are divided up according to their position with two nominees in each category, one from the Apertura and the other from the Clausura. The full list of nominees is as follows:

Goalkeeper of the year

Oscar Ustari, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Nahuel Guzmán, Tigres – Clausura 2023

Centre-back of the year

Gustavo Cabral, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Víctor Guzmán, Rayados – Clausura 2023

Full-back of the year

Kevin Álvarez, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Jesús Gallardo, Rayados – Clausura 2023

Defensive midfielder of the year

Luis Chávez, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Guido Pizarro, Tigres – Clausura 2023

Attacking midfielder of the year

Alexis Vega, Chivas – Apertura 2022
Diego Valdés, America – Clausura 2023

Forward of the year

Nicolas Ibáñez, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Henry Martin, America – Clausura 2023

Rookie of the year

Emilio Lara, America – Apertura 2022
Jaziel Martínez, Atlas – Clausura 2023

Manager of the year

Guillermo Almada, Pachuca – Apertura 2022
Veljko Paunovic, Chivas – Clausura 2023

According to the statement released by the league, the nominees were chosen “by a select committee made up of the 18 clubs, captains and technical directors, as well as by a council of sports journalists.” The winners will be chosen by the voting criteria of the committee itself and by fans. The Golden Ball awards for both women’s football and the Goal of the Year will also be revealed on Sunday June 25 at a ceremony at the Orpheum Theater in Los Angeles, California.