Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Liga MX record: which team has won the most Mexican league titles?

Tigres secured their eighth Liga MX title in the Clausura 2023 final against Chivas and are now joint fifth on the all-time list.

Tigres secured their eighth Liga MX title in the Clausura 2023 final against Chivas and are now joint fifth on the all-time list.

In the second half of the 2010, it became customary to see Tigres lifting the Liga MX trophy, as they won four of eight short tournaments between the Apertura 2015 and the Clausura 2019 to fly up the all-time leaderboard of title winners. The men from San Nicolás de los Garza had, however, been stuck on seven victories ever since, until their come-from-behind triumph in the Clausura 2023 tournament against Chivas Guadlajara.

How many Liga MX titles have Tigres won?

Los Auriazules clinched their eighth Liga MX title thanks to an extra-time victory at Estadio Akron on Sunday, with Guido Pizarro the matchwinner after they had come back from 2-0 down at half time. Their latest victory moves them up into joint fifth place in the all-time table alongside Club Léon and although they still have some work to do to catch the clubs at the very top, including this year’s finalists Chivas, their recent successes have established them as one of Mexico’s decorated clubs.

Club América, Guadalajara and Toluca make up the top three and are the only clubs to have reached double figures in terms of league titles, but Tigres could catch them before too long if the trend over the last decade or so continues.

América regular title winners since mid-60s

América’s first championship came in 1966 - and, barring a barren period in the 1990s, the Mexico City club’s title wins have arrived at fairly regular intervals since then: two in the 70s, five in a prolific 80s, two in the noughties, and three in the most recent decade. América’s most memorable triumph was their 5-3 aggregate win over Chivas in the 1983/84 championship decider, a tie described by the Mexican media as the ‘final of the century’. Their 13th and most recent title, meanwhile, came in the Apertura 2018. América had finished second to Cruz Azul in the regular season, but under former Mexico head coach Miguel Herrera, who had already led the team to the Clausura title at their city rivals’ expense in 2013, Las Águilas were again victorious in the final. Second-leg goals by Edson Álvarez gave América a 2-0 aggregate win.

América beat Chivas in the 'final of the century' in 1984.
Full screen
América beat Chivas in the 'final of the century' in 1984.JUVAGOL-MEXSPORT

Chivas chiefly champions in 50s and 60s

It looked for all the world as if Chivas were going to draw level with América on 13 titles when they went 2-0 ahead in the second leg of the Clausura 2023 final, only for them to be pegged back in the second half and beaten in extra time. Unlike their Clásico Nacional rivals, the Guadalajarans have been pretty inconsistent about their title-collecting, a 50s and 60s purple patch aside. Seven of their 12 Mexican championships came in a nine-season period between 1956 and 1965, and they have managed only four since 1970. El Rebaño Sagrado’s most recent league success was in the Clausura 2017, courtesy of a 4-3 aggregate final win over Tigres.

Toluca: turn-of-the-millennium golden era

Toluca are the only other team whose Mexican title haul reaches double figures. Los Diablos Rojos have 10, seven of which came during a golden period between 1998 and 2010 - a 12-year spell in which they were also losing finalists on three occasions. They haven’t lifted a national championship since, coming closest when they suffered a 3-2 aggregate final defeat to Santos Laguna.

At a glance: Liga MX’s most successful clubs

Club América131965/66, 1970/71, 1975/76, 1983/84, 1984/85, Prode 1985, 1987/88, 1988/89, Verano 2002, Clausura 2005, Clausura 2013, Apertura 2014, Apertura 2018
Chivas Guadalajara121956/57, 1958/59, 1959/60, 1960/61, 1961/62, 1963/64, 1964/65, 1969/70, 1986/87, Verano 1997, Apertura 2006, Clausura 2017
Toluca101966/67, 1967/68, 1974/75, Verano 1998, Verano 1999, Verano 2000, Apertura 2002, Apertura 2005, Apertura 2008, Bicentenario 2010
Cruz Azul91968/69, Mexico 1970, 1971/72, 1972/73, 1973/74, 1978/79, 1979/80, Invierno 1997, Guardianes 2021
León81947/48, 1948/49, 1951/52, 1955/56, 1991/92, Apertura 2013, Clausura 2014, Guardianes 2020
Tigres81977/78, 1981/82, Apertura 2011, Apertura 2015, Apertura 2016, Apertura 2017, Clausura 2019, Clausura 2023
Pumas71976/77, 1980/81, 1990/91, Clausura 2004, Apertura 2004, Clausura 2009, Clausura 2011
Pachuca7Invierno 1999, Invierno 2001, Apertura 2003, Clausura 2006, Clausura 2007, Clausura 2016, Apertura 2022
Santos Laguna6Invierno 1996, Verano 2001, Clausura 2008, Clausura 2012, Clausura 2015, Clausura 2018
Monterrey5Mexico 1986, Clausura 2003, Apertura 2009, Apertura 2010, Apertura 2019