NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Liga MX record: which team has won the most Mexican league titles?

It’s tight at the top of the all-time leaderboard in Mexico, where three teams have a national-championship haul that’s in double figures.

It’s tight at the top of the all-time leaderboard in Mexico, where three teams have a national-championship haul that’s in double figures.
Hector VivasGetty Images

Club América head into the Liga MX playoffs looking to put daylight between themselves and sworn enemies Chivas Guadalajara at the head of the Mexican league’s all-time leaderboard. Los Azul-Cremas, who top the Apertura 2022 regular-season standings and have booked their spot in the tournament’s final phase, are Mexico’s most successful club, having lifted 13 national titles.

América regular title winners since mid-60s

América’s first championship came in 1966 - and, barring a barren period in the 1990s, the Mexico City club’s title wins have arrived at fairly regular intervals since then: two in the 70s, five in a prolific 80s, two in the noughties, and three in the most recent decade. América’s most memorable triumph was their 5-3 aggregate win over Chivas in the 1983/84 championship decider, a tie described by the Mexican media as the ‘final of the century’. Their most recent, meanwhile, came in the Apertura 2018. América had finished second to Cruz Azul in the regular season, but under former Mexico head coach Miguel Herrera, who had already led the team to the Clausura title at their city rivals’ expense in 2013, Las Águilas were again victorious in the final. Second-leg goals by Edson Álvarez gave América a 2-0 aggregate win.

América beat Chivas in the 'final of the century' in 1984.
Full screen
América beat Chivas in the 'final of the century' in 1984.JUVAGOL-MEXSPORT

Cruz Azul’s Apertura 2018 failure is far from the only time a team has been unable to translate regular-season success into playoffs glory. Since the Mexican league switched to a short-competition format in 1996, indeed, it has happened only eight times in 52 Apertura/Clausura tournaments. América’s Apertura 2014 victory is one of those few occasions. Now, with a one-point lead over Monterrey going into the final round of regular-season games, they are once more poised to carry the ‘superlíder’ tag when the Apertura 2022 playoffs kick off in mid-October.

See also:

Chivas chiefly champions in 50s and 60s

Ahead of matchday 17, América are one of three teams - Monterrey and Pachuca are the other two - who are guaranteed a place in the quarter-finals. A fourth, which as it stands will be Santos Laguna, will also qualify automatically, while the teams from fifth to 12th will go into a preliminary round, known as the repechaje, for a place in the postseason proper. One of those sides is guaranteed to be Chivas, a club who are one behind América in the Mexican league’s overall winners’ list. Unlike their Clásico Nacional rivals, however, the Guadalajarans have been pretty inconsistent about their title-collecting, a 50s and 60s purple patch aside. Seven of their 12 Mexican championships came in a nine-season period between 1956 and 1965, and they have managed only four since 1970. El Rebaño Sagrado’s most recent league success was in the Clausura 2017, courtesy of a 4-3 aggregate final win over Tigres.

Toluca: turn-of-the-millennium golden era

Toluca, who like Chivas must negotiate the repechaje if they’re to make the Apertura 2022 playoffs, are the only other team whose Mexican title haul reaches double figures. Los Diablos Rojos have 10, seven of which came during a golden period between 1998 and 2010 - a 12-year spell in which they were also losing finalists on three occasions. They haven’t lifted a national championship since, coming closest when they suffered a 3-2 aggregate final defeat to Santos Laguna.

At a glance: Liga MX’s most successful clubs

Club América131965/66, 1970/71, 1975/76, 1983/84, 1984/85, Prode 1985, 1987/88, 1988/89, Verano 2002, Clausura 2005, Clausura 2013, Apertura 2014, Apertura 2018
Chivas Guadalajara121956/57, 1958/59, 1959/60, 1960/61, 1961/62, 1963/64, 1964/65, 1969/70, 1986/87, Verano 1997, Apertura 2006, Clausura 2017
Toluca101966/67, 1967/68, 1974/75, Verano 1998, Verano 1999, Verano 2000, Apertura 2002, Apertura 2005, Apertura 2008, Bicentenario 2010
Cruz Azul91968/69, Mexico 1970, 1971/72, 1972/73, 1973/74, 1978/79, 1979/80, Invierno 1997, Guardianes 2021
León81947/48, 1948/49, 1951/52, 1955/56, 1991/92, Apertura 2013, Clausura 2014, Guardianes 2020
Pumas71976/77, 1980/81, 1990/91, Clausura 2004, Apertura 2004, Clausura 2009, Clausura 2011
Tigres71977/78, 1981/82, Apertura 2011, Apertura 2015, Apertura 2016, Apertura 2017, Clausura 2019
Santos Laguna6Invierno 1996, Verano 2001, Clausura 2008, Clausura 2012, Clausura 2015, Clausura 2018
Pachuca6Invierno 1999, Invierno 2001, Apertura 2003, Clausura 2006, Clausura 2007, Clausura 2016
Monterrey5Mexico 1986, Clausura 2003, Apertura 2009, Apertura 2010, Apertura 2019

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?