NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

SOCCER

MLS All-Stars vs Liga MX All-Stars: how to watch online and on TV

The Liga MX All-Stars are once more the opposition for the MLS All-Stars as Saint Paul’s Allianz Field hosts the 2022 MLS All-Star Game on Wednesday.

Update:
The Liga MX All-Stars are once more the opposition for the MLS All-Stars as Saint Paul’s Allianz Field hosts the 2022 MLS All-Star Game on Wednesday.
Kirby LeeUSA TODAY Sports

The best of the US and Mexican leagues face off in the 2022 MLS All-Star Game on Wednesday, as the MLS All-Stars take on the Liga MX All-Stars in Minnesota.

Liga MX back for a second All-Star Game

LA Galaxy’s Mexican striker Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernández will captain the MLS All-Stars, who will be managed by Minnesota United head coach Adrian Heath. Hernández was chosen as the hosts’ skipper through a fan vote on Twitter, the 34-year-old earning the armband ahead of Nashville SC’s Walker Zimmerman, FC Dallas’ Jesús Ferreira and New York City FC’s Sean Johnson.

The Liga MX All-Stars, who are to be coached by Atlas boss Diego Cocca, will be playing their second consecutive MLS All-Star Game. In 2021, the Mexicans were beaten 3-2 on penalties by the MLS All-Stars, following a 1-1 draw at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles.

The MLS All-Stars beat the Liga MX All-Stars on penalties in the 2021 MLS All-Star Game.
Full screen
The MLS All-Stars beat the Liga MX All-Stars on penalties in the 2021 MLS All-Star Game.Jayne Kamin-OnceaUSA TODAY Sports

When does the MLS All-Star Game kick off?

The 2022 MLS All-Star Game between the MLS All-Stars and the Liga MX All-Stars will be played at Allianz Field, Saint Paul, on Wednesday 10 August 2022 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/5:30pm PT.

Find out what time the game kicks off wherever you are in the world.

How can I watch the MLS All-Star Game on TV, online in the US?

Television viewers in the United States will be able to watch the MLS All-Star Game live on ESPN (English commentary) and Univisión (Spanish commentary).

If you’re looking to watch the game online in the US, it appears that you will be able to do so on ESPN.com and Univisión NOW, while streaming platforms such as fuboTV, YouTube TV, Sling TV and DirecTV Stream are also an option.

You can buy tickets for the MLS All-Star Game on SeatGeek.

MLS All-Star Game rosters

MLS All-Stars:

Goalkeepers: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Dayne St Clair (Minnesota United)

Defenders: Julián Araujo (LA Galaxy), Jakob Glesnes (Philadelphia Union), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Kamal Miller (CF Montréal), Diego Palacios (Los Angeles FC), Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union), DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami CF), Walker Ziimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders: Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati), Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC), Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC), Darlington Nagbe (Columbus Crew), Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United), Ilie Sánchez (Los Angeles FC)

Forward: Paul Arriola (FC Dallas), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Taxiarchis Fountas (D.C. United), Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernández (LA Galaxy), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Raúl Ruidíaz (Seattle Sounders), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles FC), Brandon Vázquez (FC Cincinnati)

Coach: Adrian Heath (Minnesota United)

Liga MX All-Stars:

Goalkeepers: Carlos Acevedo (Santos Laguna), Oscar Ustari (Pachuca), Camilo Vargas (Atlas)

Defenders: Diego Barbosa (Atlas), Kevin Álvarez (Pachuca), Luis Reyes (Atlas), Brayan Angulo (Toluca), Hugo Nervo (Atlas), Matheus Doria (Santos Laguna), Lisandro López (Tijuana), Jesús Angulo (Tigres)

Midfielders: Aldo Rocha (Atlas), Álvaro Fidalgo (América), Alexis Vega (Chivas), Avilés Hurtado (Pachuca), Fernando Beltrán (Chivas), Erik Lira (Cruz Azul), Luis Chávez (Pachuca), Ángel Mena (León), Julián Quiñones (Atlas)

Forwards: Uriel Antuna (Cruz Azul), Germán Berterame (Monterrey), Julio Furch (Atlas), Juan Dinenno (Pumas), Jordán Carrillo (Santos), Heriberto Jurado (Necaxa)

Coach: Diego Cocca (Atlas)

How were the MLS All-Star Game rosters chosen?

The MLS All-Stars’ 26-man roster was chosen in three ways. Twelve members of the squad were chosen in a fan vote, while another 12 picks were given to Heath. Finally, MLS commissioner Don Garber named two players. Check out who was chosen how.

As for the Liga MX All-Stars, the top 14 nominees for the Mexican league’s player of the year award were automatically selected, and Cocca chose the remaining 12 players.

Plenty of events around MLS All-Star Game

In the lead-up to Wednesday’s match, the MLS has organised a number of events in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul metropolitan area.

On Monday at 7pm ET/6pm CT/4pm PT, the MLS All-Star Concert will take place at The Commons in Minneapolis, with five-time Grammy Award winner Khalid the headline performer. Also on Monday, Allianz Field will host the All-Star Skills Challenge, which will involve the following MLS and Liga MX All-Stars:

MLS: Sebastián Driussi, Jesús Ferreira, Chicharito, Héctor Herrera (Houston Dynamo), Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Lorenzo Insigne (Toronto FC), Sean Johnson, Hany Mukhtar, Dayne St Clair, Emanuel Reynoso

Liga MX: Avilés Hurtado, Ángel Mena, Julián Quiñones, Germán Berterame, Uriel Antuna, Alexis Vega, Álvaro Fidalgo, Luis Chávez, Carlos Acevedo, Camilo Vargas

On Tuesday and Wednesday, there will be an all-day MLS All-Star Soccer Celebration. Held on the Allianz Field Great Lawn, it is described by the US league as “a free pregame festival for fans of all ages with interactive fan zones to music, games, autographs, and free giveaways”.

In addition to the All-Star Game, Wednesday will witness two further matches, both of which will be played at the National Sports Center in Blaine. At 12pm ET/11am CT/9am PT, the top players in the MLS Next youth soccer league will contest the MLS Next All-Star Game, before the Special Olympics Unified All-Star Game takes place at 4:30pm ET/3:30pm CT/1:30pm PT.

“In an effort to promote an environment of social inclusion, the Unified Sports West and East All-Star soccer teams, comprised of individuals with intellectual disabilities (Special Olympic athletes) and without intellectual disabilities (Unified partners) will play in an 11 v. 11 competitive match,” the MLS said.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?