NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Nicolás Ibáñez, another Argentine to become top scorer in Liga MX

The Pachuca striker failed to score against Monterrey, but he is set to become the tournament’s top scorer.

Nicolás Ibáñez, the thirteenth Argentine to be scoring champion in Liga MX
Omar Martinez

Pachuca striker Nicolás Ibáñez will be crowned Apertura 2022 top scorer this Sunday, with 11 goals to his name.

The Argentinian was in the starting line-up for the Tuzos in their visit to the BBVA Stadium to face Rayados and, although he didn’t score, his closest pursuers also failed to score, leaving the way clear to become this season’s top scorer in Liga MX.

Henry Martín, with 10 goals, was Ibañez’s closest rival in the race to be the tournament’s top scorer, but the Yucatecan failed to score on Friday against Puebla.

Ibáñez’s closest challengers in the scoring charts were Martín Barragán (Puebla) and Abel Hernández (San Luis), both on eight goals, but both failed to score this weekend.

Jean Meneses (Toluca) and Lucas Di Yorio (León), both with seven goals, will play their last regular season match on Sunday, but it is almost impossible for them to catch Ibañez, making the Pachuca striker’s goal-scoring title imminent.


Nicolás Ibáñez will become the 14th Argentinian to be crowned top scorer in 52 seasons in Mexico.

Mauro Boselli was top scorer in three seasons. Bruno Marioni, Emanuel Villa and Matías Vusoso were top scorers in two seasons.

Here is the complete list of Argentinian goal-scoring champions in Mexican seasons:

Verano 97 Gabriel Caballero and Lorenzo Sáez

Clausura 2004 Bruno Marioni and Andrés Silvera

Apertura 2004 Guillermo Franco

Clausura 2005 Matías Vuoso

Apertura 2005 Matías Vuoso and Walter Gaitán

Apertura 2006 Bruno Marioni

Apertura 2007 Alfredo Moreno

Apertura 2009 Emanuel Villa

Apertura 2014 Mauro Boselli

Apertura 2015 Emanuel Villa and Mauro Boselli

Apertura 2017 Mauro Boselli

Apertura 2019 Mauro Quiroga

Guardianes 2021 Alexis Canelo

Apertura 2021 Germán Berterame


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?