NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Real Madrid LaLiga champion: who is the Real Madrid coach with the most LaLiga titles?

Carlo Ancelotti becomes the 18th Real Madrid coach to lift Spain’s top flight soccer title. Full list of Real Madrid title winning coaches.

Carlo Ancelotti becomes the 18th Real Madrid coach to lift Spain’s top flight soccer title. Full list of Real Madrid title winning coaches.

Carlo Ancelotti has become the eighteenth Real Madrid coach to win the La Liga title after Saturday’s win over Espanyol. The Italian coach has won the championship in the first season of his second spell as Madrid coach, having led the Bernabéu-based outfit during the 2013-14 and 2014-15 campaigns, in which he finished third and second respectively. Notably, he is only the second Italian coach to lift the title, after Fabio Capello, who won the 1996-97 and 2006-07 titles, both times also with Real Madrid

So far 18 coaches who have won the league title with Madrid. Starting with Hungarian Lippo Hertzka in the 1931-32 campaign, when Madrid won its first league title, through to this latest triumph, coaches from Spain, Europe and the Americas have won the Spanish first division with the side from the north of the Spanish capital.

Most LaLiga titles with Real Madrid

The coach who has won the most titles with Real Madrid is Miguel Muñoz, who took charge of the team in the 1959-60 season, taking over the first team after Paraguayan coach Manuel Fleitas Solich had to undergo surgery.

At the end of that season, Muñoz, who had been in charge of Plus Ultra, then Madrid’s reserve team, was promoted full time to the first team. Muñoz would manage Real Madrid through to the beginning of 1974, when he announced his departure. In total he had spent almost 14 years on the bench, winning nine league titles, almost all of them during the 1960s. Muñoz won the 1960-61, 1961-62, 1962-63, 1963-64, 1964-65, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1968-69 and 1971-72 league titles.

Miguel Muñoz
Full screen
Miguel MuñozDIARIO AS

Muñoz was followed by two other coaches who won three LaLiga titles. One of them, Molowny, did it in two different decades (1977-78 and 1978-79 in the 1970s and 1985-86), while the other, Leo Beenhakker, did it consecutively between 1986 and 1989, when he was replaced by John Toshack (who would win the title in the 1989-1990 campaign).

José Villalonga, Miljan Miljanic, the aforementioned Fabio Capello, Vicente del Bosque and Zinedine Zidane have two La Liga titles each to their name, while nine other coaches have won a single title: Lippo Hertzka, Robert Firth, Enrique Fernández, Luis Carniglia, Vujadin Boskov, John Toshack, Jorge Valdano, Bernd Schuster, José Mourinho and Carlo Ancelotti.

Full list of Real Madrid title winning coaches

Muñoz 9
Molowny 3
Beenhakker 3
Villalonga 2
Miljanic 2
Capello 2
Del Bosque 2
Zidane 2
Hertzka 1
Firth 1
Fernández 1
Carniglia 1
Boskov 1
Toshack 1
Valdano 1
Schuster 1
Mourinho 1
Ancelotti 1

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?