NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


UEFA Women’s Champions League: complete list of winners

In today’s Women’s Champions League final, Barcelona and Wolfsburg are out to move up the list of the competition’s most successful clubs.

In today’s Women’s Champions League final, Barcelona and Wolfsburg are out to move up the list of the competition’s most successful clubs.

Barcelona are poised for yet another appearance in the Women’s Champions League final today - their fourth in five years - as the Blaugrana bid to clinch the second European title in their history.

Barça’s route to the showpiece event in Eindhoven was by no means straightforward. In the semi-finals, Chelsea threatened to earn a surprise victory over Jonatan Giráldez’s side, particularly in the second leg at the Camp Nou. However, the Catalans’ experience of the big European occasion made the difference against the West Londoners, and the 2021 winners now have the opportunity to banish the memories of last year’s final defeat to Lyon.

At Philips Stadion, Barça face a powerhouse of the European women’s game. Germans Wolfsburg, who saw off Arsenal in the last four, are bidding for their third title in a tournament that has undergone notable changes over the years, and has so far been won by a total of eight different clubs.

What are the origins of the Women’s Champions League?

The Women’s Champions League came into being at a UEFA executive committee meeting in Paris on 23 May 2000. Initially known as the UEFA Women’s Cup, its first season took place in 2001/02, with Germans FFC Frankfurt (now Eintracht Frankfurt) winning the inaugural title.

After Frankfurt were crowned in a single-game final in 2001/02, the tournament’s trophy decider became a two-legged tie for the next seven years, before reverting to its original format in 2009/10. This was also the first season after the Women’s Cup was rebranded as the Women’s Champions League.

While Swedish football was a major force in the competition’s early years, Umea IK securing consecutive European crowns in 2003 and 2004, it is Germany that leads the way in the all-time winners’ list. In all, clubs from the country have lifted the Women’s Cup/Champions League on nine occasions. France - whose titles have all been won by Lyon - is one behind.

See also:

Which clubs have won the most Women’s Champions Leagues?

Lyon’s eight European championships make them the most successful club in the history of the Women’s Cup/Women’s Champions League. Five of those trophy triumphs came in consecutive seasons, between 2015/16 and 2019/20. Les Lyonnaises are also the reigning European champions, having beaten Barça 3-1 in Turin 12 months ago.

Behind Lyon, Frankfurt have four titles to their name, while Umea, Wolfsburg and Turbine Potsdam complete the podium with two each. Arsenal, Duisburg and Barça have all won the competition once.

Women’s Champions League: every final and winner

2001/02Frankfurt (Germany)Umea (Sweden)
2002/03Umea (Sweden)Fortuna (Denmark)
2003/04Umea (Sweden)Frankfurt (Germany)
2004/05Potsdam (Germany)Djurgarden (Sweden)
2005/06Potsdam (Germany)Potsdam (Germany)
2006/07Arsenal (England)Umea (Sweden)
2007/08Frankfurt (Germany)Umea (Sweden)
2008/09Duisburg (Germany)Zvezda-2005 (Russia)
2009/10 (rebranded as UWCL)Potsdam (Germany)Lyon (France)
2010/11Lyon (France)Potsdam (Germany)
2011/12Lyon (France)Frankfurt (Germany)
2012/13Wolfsburg (Germany)Lyon (France)
2013/14Wolfsburg (Germany)Tyreso (Sweden)
2014/15Frankfurt (Germany)PSG (France)
2015/16Lyon (France)Wolfsburg (Germany)
2016/17Lyon (France)PSG (France)
2017/18Lyon (France)Wolfsburg (Germany)
2018/19Lyon (France)Barcelona (Spain)
2019/20Lyon (France)Wolfsburg (Germany)
2020/21Barcelona (Spain)Chelsea (England)
2021/22Lyon (France)Barcelona (Spain)

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?