NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What is the CONCACAF W Championship and what does the winner get?

The 11th edition of the CONCACAF ‘W’ championship kicks off on 4 July and will be staged in two Mexican stadiums, featuring eight participating teams.

Jun 25, 2022; Commerce City, Colorado, USA;  USA midfielder Taylor Kornieck (20) celebrates with forward Megan Rapinoe (15) after scoring a goal against Colombia in the second half during an international friendly soccer match at Dick's Sporting Goods Park.
John LeybaUSA TODAY Sports

USA vs Haiti is the curtain raiser on 4 July as the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship gets underway in Mexico. This will be the 11th edition of the W Championship with eights sides involved in the competition that runs from 4 to 18 July 2022 in the Mexican cities of San Nicolas de los Garza and Guadalupe in the Monterrey region.

BBVA Bancomer Stadium in Monterrey,
Full screen
BBVA Bancomer Stadium in Monterrey, ALFREDO ESTRELLAAFP

The tournament will serve as the CONCACAF qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, as well as for the Summer Olympics in Paris (France). The top two teams of each of the two groups will qualify automatically for the World Cup, while the third-placed teams from each group will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs. In addition, the winners will qualify for the Olympics and the 2024 CONCACAF W Gold Cup, while the second and third-placed teams will advance to the CONCACAF Olympic play-off.

Strong favourites

Eight teams will battle for the trophy (USA, Canada, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti, Costa Rica, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago with the United States two-time defending champions, having won both the 2014 and 2018 tournaments and strong favourites and are in Group A along with Haiti, Jamaica and hosts Mexico.

There will be two groups of four with the top two progressing to the semi-final stage with the final scheduled for the 18th of July at the 53,000 capacity Estadio BBVA (home to Liga MX side CF Monterrey).

How to watch the CONCACAF W Championship

The tournament will be broadcast in the United States across the following platforms: CBS Sports, Paramount+, TUDN USA and ViX.

Viewers outside North and Central America can follow the action via the CONCACAF Go application.