NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


When does the Liga MX Apertura 2023 tournament begin?

Tigres will be the defending champions after beating Chivas after extra time to win their eighth Liga MX title.

Tigres will be the defending champions after beating Chivas after extra time to win their eighth Liga MX title.
Francisco GuascoEFE

The Clausura 2023 tournament has reached its conclusion, with Tigres crowned Liga MX champions for the first time since 2019 following a tense final victory over Chivas. After a goalless first leg, Veljko Paunović's team looked to be on course for their first title in six years after racing into a 2-0 lead inside 20 minutes of the return clash, only to be pegged back after half time and beaten in extra time as a result of Guido Pizarro’s header.

When do Club León face LAFC in the Concacaf Champions League final?

The 2022-23 season has now come to an end for Mexican clubs, with one exception. Club Léon have made it through to the final of the Concacaf Champions League, where they will face Carlos Vela’s Los Angeles FC. Los Panzas Verdes host the first leg on Wednesday 31 May (kick-off at 10pm ET), with the second played at the home of the MLS Cup holders on Sunday 4 June (9pm ET).

Campéon de Campeones: who plays, when and where?

Looking ahead to next season, there will be little respite for León in particular, with the Apertura 2023 tournament scheduled to start less than a month after the second leg of the Concacaf Champions League final. Before the league gets underway, however, the Campéon de Campeones will take place, with Apertura 2022 winners Pachuca taking on Clausura 2023 champions Tigres on Sunday 25 June at Dignity Health Sports Park in Los Angeles.

When does the Apertura 2023 start?

Five days later, on Friday 30 June, the Apertura 2023 will get underway, although there will be plenty of disruption in the early part of the season. With the 2023 Gold Cup running from 24 June to 16 July, clubs will be forced to kick off their domestic campaign without players who have been called up to play at the tournament.

Liga MX vs MLS in the Leagues Cup

On top of that, the league will be halted after three rounds because of the new Leagues Cup, which all 18 Liga MX clubs and 29 MLS teams will take part in. That means Liga MX will be on stand-by for the best part of a month, between 21 July and 19 August.

The rest of the league season should run ‘as normal’, although further details on the calendar have yet to be released. What is known, however, is that the Clausura 2024 tournament is due to start on 12 January 2024.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?