LaLiga football grounds: A rough guide (part V)

From the iconic Santiago Bernabeu in the Spanish capital to Sevilla's Sanchez Pizjuan, part five of our look at all twenty clubs in the Spanish top flight and their respective football grounds.Tenerife vs Getafe: Playoff Final

LaLiga football grounds: A rough guide (part V)
Paul Reidy

Part five of our look at all 20 LaLiga team's stadia takes in Real Madrid, Real Sociedad and Sevilla FC.

Real Madrid CF

With a capacity of 81.044, Real Madrid's Santiago Bernabéu is the second biggest ground in Laliga and has also been given the UEFA "five star" branding. The ground was inaugurated in 1947 and was known then as the New Chamartín. It changed it's name to the Santiago Bernabéu stadium in 1955 as a tribute to one of the club's most dearly loved and prestigious presidents in club history. Plans are afoot by current club president Florentino Pérez to renovate the stadium and incorporate a roof with work earmarked  to commence at the end of the current season.


Real Sociedad

The San Sebastian based club opened their new Anoeta ground on August 13, 1993 after leaving their former iconic and compact Atoxa ground. Anoeta can house 32.000 fans and has been often criticised by spectators arguing that the running track detracts from the match day atmosphere. The Basque side have registered an average attendance of 21.717 spectators for the current campaign.


Sevilla FC

Sevilla's Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán boasts a 42.714 capacity and has just been refurbished since it's original construction in 1958. The Andalusian ground hosted the 1982 World Cup semi-final between France and Germany and the 1986 European Cup final when Steaua Bucharest surprised favourites FC Barcelona to claim the trophy.

Follow the coverage of Leicester-Sevilla | Champions League