NewslettersSign inAPP
españaESPAÑAargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAméxicoMÉXICOperúPERÚusa latinoUSA LATINOaméricaAMÉRICA


2017 Ballon d'Or result: Cristiano Ronaldo wins fifth career award

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d'Or for the fifth time, with Lionel Messi coming second and Paris Saint-Germain's Neymar finishing third
Brazil - Belgium live online: World Cup 2018 quarter-final

2017 Ballon d'Or result: Cristiano Ronaldo wins fifth career award

2017 Ballon d'Or: Cristiano Ronaldo wins France Football award

2017 Ballon d'Or awards ceremony: preview

The stunning Eiffel Tower in the French capital is the setting for this evening's star-studded event hosted by respected French magazine 'France Football' with former PSG, Newcastle and Tottenham player David Ginola this evening's host

Cristiano Ronaldo is the firm favourite to walk away from Paris with his fifth Ballon d'Or award and equal FC Barcelona striker with his five trophy haul. Since 2008 no other player apart from this incredible duo has won the prestigious award with AC Milan's Kaka' the last player to win the prize.

2017 Ballon d'Or Candidates

Real Madrid's Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo
Full screen
Real Madrid's Portuguese forward Cristiano RonaldoJAVIER SORIANOAFP

The ceremony officially starts at 19:45 CET but the action from Paris will be well underway before with the famous red carpet as the guests make their way into the hall. 

The list of 30 candidates for this years award is:: Neymar (PSG/BRA), Dybala (Juventus/ARG), Marcelo (Real Madrid/BRA), Modric (Real Madrid/CRO), Kanté (Chelsea/FRA), Luis Suárez (Barcelona/URU), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/SPA), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid/SLO), Coutinho (Liverpool/BRA), Mertens (Napoli/BÉL), De Bruyne (Manchester City/BÉL), Lewandowski (Bayern/POL), De Gea (Manchester United/SPA), Harry Kane (Tottenham/ENG), Dzeko (Roma/BOS), Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/FRA), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/GER), Buffon (Juventus/ITA), Sadio Mané (Liverpool/SEN), Radamel Falcao (Mónaco/COL), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ARG), Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund/GAB), Edinson Cavani (PSG/URU), Benzema (Real Madrid/FRA), Hummels (Bayern/GER), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/POR), Hazard (Chelsea/BÉL), Bonucci (Milan/ITA), Isco (Real Madrid/SPA) y Kylian Mbappé (PSG/FRA) 

Will we see a repeat of last year with Cristiano winning, Messi second and Griezmann third on the podium? Join us to find out ....

Player photo
  • PSG
  • delantero
  • Argentina

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?