Third Europa League for Atlético Madrid

Atleti are now equal with Sevilla, who won the competition in 2014, 2015 and 2016. Between the Europa League and the UEFA Cup Spanish clubs dominate, having won 11 trophies.

Third Europa League for Atlético Madrid

Atlético Madrid won their third Europa League in Lyon on Wednesday evening, in the same place they lost the European Cup Winners' Cup in 1986 against Dynamo Kiev (3-0). Just as they did in 2010, against Fulham, and in 2012, against Athletic, the red and white team from the Spanish capital won Europe's second club competition, on this occasion beating Olympic Marseille 0-3, with a double from Griezmann and one from Gabi.

This was Atlético's 13th European final and gave them their sixth title. In total three Europa Leagues, one Cup Winner's Cup (1962) and two European Super Cups (2010 and 2012).

Spanish clubs dominate the UEFA Cup/Europa League

With this third Europa League, Atlético draw level with Sevilla (2014, 2015 and 2016) in the tournament's list of winners in its present format. The competition was previously, before 2010, the UEFA Cup, first held in 1972. Including both the UEFA Cup and Europa League Sevilla have won five trophies, while Juventus, Inter Milan and Liverpool have also won three.

Spanish clubs dominate the overall list of winners, having taken 11 titles: six Europa Leagues (three from Atleti and three from Sevilla) and five UEFA Cups, Sevilla's two, Real Madrid (two) and Valencia.

Winners Europa League / UEFA Cup

Year Team
2018 Atlético Madrid
2017 Manchester United
2016 Sevilla
2015 Sevilla
2014 Sevilla
2013 Chelsea
2012 Atlético Madrid
2011 Porto

Atlético Madrid

2009 Shakhtar Donetsk
2008  Zenit
2007  Sevilla
2006  Sevilla
2005  CSKA Moscow
2004  Valencia
2003  Porto
2002  Feyenoord
2001  Liverpool
2000  Galatasaray
1999 Parma
1998 Inter Milan
1997  Schalke 04
1996 Bayern Munich
1995 Parma
1994 Inter Milan
1993 Juventus
1992 Ajax
1991 Inter Milan
1990 Juventus
1989 Napoli
1988 Bayer Leverkusen
1987 Gothenburg
1986 Real Madrid
1985 Real Madrid
1984 Tottenham
1983 Anderlecht
1982 Gothenburg
1981 Ipswich Town
1980 Eintracht
1979 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1978 PSV
1977 Juventus
1976 Liverpool
1975 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1974 Feyenoord
1973 Liverpool
1972 Tottenham