Pliskova fined 'four-digit' sum for damaging umpire's chair
World number six Karolina Pliskova is slightly lighter in the pocket after an angry outburst at the Internazionali d'Italia.
Karolina Pliskova has been fined a "four-digit amount" for an outburst that saw her smash the umpire's chair at the Internazionali d'Italia, according to her fiance and manager.
The Czech was left enraged by a line call that went against her in a second-round defeat to Maria Sakkari on Wednesday.
With the score at 5-5 40-40 in the third set, an overhead volley was called out despite replays suggesting the ball was inside the lines.
A lengthy delay followed, in which the tournament supervisor was summoned, and Sakkari went on to convert the break point before winning the match 3-6 6-3 7-5.
Pliskova losing her cool
Pliskova lost her cool in sensational fashion at the end of the match, repeatedly striking the umpire's chair with her racquet, leaving a hole in the chair.
The world number five has now been punished for her loss of temper.
Her manager, Michal Hrdlicka, wrote on Twitter: "Karolina was fined by the WTA and accepted the fine.
"She has also decided to send the same amount from her endowment fund for a good cause. It's a four-digit amount."
Te recomendamos en English
- CHILD TAX CREDIT Can Child Tax Credit payments affect my tax return in 2022?
- OLYMPIC GAMES Who is Laurel Hubbard? Meet the transgender athlete breaking barriers at the Tokyo Olympics
- OLYMPIC GAMES USA at Tokyo Olympics 2021 live updates: JuVaughn Harrison, Jennifer Gadirova | medal count, results, today 1 August
- OLYMPIC GAMES | SWIMMING What are Katie Ledecky's stats: records, Olympic medals, titles
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS CHECK California Golden State stimulus check: when is the new payment coming?
- OLYMPIC GAMES Tokyo Olympics 2021 medal count updates: who has won more? Tally by country, today, 1 August