Pliskova fined 'four-digit' sum for damaging umpire's chair
World number six Karolina Pliskova is slightly lighter in the pocket after an angry outburst at the Internazionali d'Italia.
Karolina Pliskova has been fined a "four-digit amount" for an outburst that saw her smash the umpire's chair at the Internazionali d'Italia, according to her fiance and manager.
The Czech was left enraged by a line call that went against her in a second-round defeat to Maria Sakkari on Wednesday.
With the score at 5-5 40-40 in the third set, an overhead volley was called out despite replays suggesting the ball was inside the lines.
A lengthy delay followed, in which the tournament supervisor was summoned, and Sakkari went on to convert the break point before winning the match 3-6 6-3 7-5.
Pliskova losing her cool
Pliskova lost her cool in sensational fashion at the end of the match, repeatedly striking the umpire's chair with her racquet, leaving a hole in the chair.
The world number five has now been punished for her loss of temper.
Her manager, Michal Hrdlicka, wrote on Twitter: "Karolina was fined by the WTA and accepted the fine.
"She has also decided to send the same amount from her endowment fund for a good cause. It's a four-digit amount."
Te recomendamos en English
- Child Tax Credit Child Tax Credit 2021: when is the deadline to opt out from August payment?
- US NEWS What public pools are open in summer 2021 in Los Angeles?
- OLYMPIC GAMES USA at Tokyo Olympics 2021 live updates: Ledecky going for gold, medal count, results, today 28 July
- OLYMPIC GAMES Why is Russia called ROC at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics?
- OLYMPIC GAMES | SWIMMING Ledecky aiming for two golds in a day with Titmus in the way
- REAL MADRID Official: Real Madrid defender Varane signs for Manchester United