World Cup 2018

The 20 World Cup winners

1974 - West Germany

Host nation West Germany regained the World Cup four years later, beating Johann Cruyff's Netherlands 2-1 in Munich. Franz Beckenbauer and Sepp Maier became the first players to hold the new World Cup trophy aloft.

Photo: Diario AS


1978 - Argentina

Argentina continued the trend of triumphant host nations in 1978 , beating the Netherlands 3-1 in Buenos Aires on June 25. At 25 years old, Daniel Pasarella became the youngest World Cup-winning captain to date.

Photo: Diario AS


1982 - Italy

Italy won their third World Cup at the Santiago Bernabéu stadium in Madrid with a 3-1 victory over West Germany. Dino Zoff, pictured left of Claudio Gentile, was world champion in his final World Cup at the age of 40.

Photo: Steve Powell Getty Images


1986 - Argentina

Diego Maradona inspired Argentina to glory in 1986 in Mexico, scoring the infamous "Hand of God" goal and then the Goal of the Century in the quarter-finals against England. On June 29, the Cosmic Barrel led Argentina to a 3-2 victory over West Germany.



2010 - Spain

Spain won their first World Cup in South Africa in 2010, winning every knock-out game 1-0 en route to the final, where Andrés Iniesta made history in extra time in the 116th minute as La Roja beat the Netherlands 1-0.

Photo: Juan Flor DIARIO AS


2014 - Germany

Mario Götze hit the winning goal in the 113th minute of the final to break Argentina's hearts but the eventual champions will be best remembered for thrashing host nation Brazil 7-1 in the last four.

Photo: Michael Dalder REUTERS


20 / 20