Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Márquez enjoys home comforts as Lorenzo crashes out again

The championship leader was able to celebrate a third straight victory at the Grand Prix of Aragón after a thrilling battle with Andrea Dovizioso.

Márquez enjoys home comforts as Lorenzo crashes out again
Getty Images

Marc Márquez held off Andrea Dovizioso to clinch victory at the Grand Prix of Aragon after Jorge Lorenzo crashed out for the second successive race.

Spaniard Márquez triumphed on home soil for a third successive year, though it was far from straightforward for the world championship leader on Sunday.

His battle with Dovizioso ebbed and flowed throughout after polesitter Lorenzo's early exit, the Ducati rider failing to make it beyond the first corner as he flipped over the front of his bike.

Márquez had initially squeezed into the lead, ahead of compatriot Lorenzo, who suffered a dislocated toe on his right foot, but Dovizioso darted to the head of the field by the end of the opening lap.

The Italian held sway for the majority of the race before the duo began exchanging first place, Márquez - who jumped onto the barriers to salute the crowd during his celebrations - crucially assuming control on lap 21 before moving clear in the closing stages.

Andrea Iannone secured the final place on the podium ahead of Suzuki Ecstar team-mate Alex Rins, with Dani Pedrosa and Aleix Espargaro in fifth and sixth respectively.

Danilo Petrucci was seventh ahead of Valentino Rossi, the Italian making a late move to pass Jack Miller, with Maverick Viñales rounding out the top 10.


1. Marc Márquez (Honda) 
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati)
3. Andrea Iannone (Suzuki) 
4. Alex Rins (Suzuki)
5. Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
6.  Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia)
7. Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Racing)
8. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)
9. Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) 
10. Maverick Viñales (Yamaha)
11. Franco Morbidelli (Honda)
12. Takaaki Nakagami (Honda)
13. Bradley Smith (KTM)
14. Johann Zarco (Yamaha)
15. Karel Abraham (Ducati)


Marc Márquez - 246
Andrea Dovizioso - 174
Valentino Rossi - 159
Jorge Lorenzo - 130
Maverick Viñales - 130