NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Real Madrid: the last time they lost four from 11, Pérez resigned soon after

The Real Madrid president announced his surprising resignation in February 2006, saying he blamed himself for the club's poor performances and admitting he had "been rude" to the players.

Florentino dimitió en febrero de 2006.

The 2005-2006 season was the last time that Real Madrid had accumulated four defeats in their first 11 games, as has happened in this campaign, and things did not finish well for the club for that year, neither on the pitch or in the board room.

Los Blancos started that campaign with Vanderlei Luxemburgo in the dugout, but a run of poor performances led to his replacement in December by Juan Ramón Lopéz Caro, who at the time was coaching Real Madrid Castilla (then called Real Madrid B).

Not much improved under Lopéz Caro and they finished that season second in LaLiga, 12 points behind Barcelona, after being knocked out of the Champions League in the last 16 by the Arsenal of Cesc Fabregas and Thierry Henry.

Florentino Pérez resigns

That poor season also saw Florentino Pérez bring an end to his first tenure as president, when he surprisingly resigned in February 2006.

"I do not blame the players; I am the only one in charge. Some players are confused and I have added to their confusion. I have been rude to them. The best way for them to understand is for others to do what I haven’t been able to do. I haven’t enjoyed many of the performances recently and I must blame myself," he explained when announcing his resignation.

Ex-Real Madrid president, Ramón Calderón, who lasted three years from 2006 to 2009
Full screen
Ex-Real Madrid president, Ramón Calderón, who lasted three years from 2006 to 2009

Unfortunately, his resignation did not have the desired effect that Peréz had wanted. Madrid were left high and dry and went through two other presidents before the start of the following season. First Fernando Martín, who barely lasted two months, and then Luis Gómez-Montejano, who oversaw the election of Ramón Calderón in July 2006.

Calderón lasted until January 2009 before being replaced by Vicente Boluda. But just over four months later, at the end of May 2009, Boluda made way and Florentino was back at the helm for his second term as president.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?