NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

EURO 2020

Euro 2020 play-offs, pots & draws: teams, dates, times...

20 nations have now qualified for next summer's European Championship, with four more tournament spots up for grabs in March's play-offs.

Euro 2020 play-offs, pots & draws: teams, dates, times...

The line-up for next summer's European Championship finals is nearing completion. Following the conclusion of the Euro 2020 qualifying group stage, 20 nations have now booked their place at the pan-continental tournament - with just four more spots up for grabs in March's play-offs.

Which countries have qualified for Euro 2020?

Group A: England (top seed) and Czech Republic.
Group B: Ukraine (top seed) and Portugal.
Group C: Germany (top seed) and the Netherlands.
Group D: Switzerland and Denmark.
Group E: Croatia and Wales.
Group F: Spain (top seed) and Sweden.
Group G: Poland and Austria.
Group H: France and Turkey.
Group I: Belgium (top seed) and Russia.
Group J: Italy (top seed) and Finland.

How are the four Euro 2020 pots determined?

The make-up of the four, six-team pots comes down exclusively to results in Euro 2020 qualifying. As there were groups of both five and six teams, countries' performances against the bottom side in six-nation sections will be disregarded.

The six best group winners go into Pot 1, while Pot 2 will contain the other four first-placed teams and the two top runners-up. Pot 3 will comprise the six next-best second-placed sides. The final two second-placed nations will go into Pot 4, together with the four play-off winners.

The four Euro 2020 pots as things stand

Pot 1: Belgium, Italy, England, Germany, Spain and Ukraine.
Pot 2: France, Poland, Switzerland, Croatia, the Netherlands and Russia.
Pot 3: Portugal, Turkey, Denmark, Austria, Sweden and the Czech Republic.
Pot 4: Wales, Finland and the four play-off winners.

Finland will be at Euro 2020, having qualified for a major tournament for the first time in their history.
Full screen
Finland will be at Euro 2020, having qualified for a major tournament for the first time in their history.REUTERS

Euro 2020 play-offs: which countries are involved?

Path A: Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania.
Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland.
Path C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania.
Path D: Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus.

How will the Euro 2020 play-offs work?

In each four-team 'path', two semi-finals and a final will be held to decide which country qualifies for Euro 2020. All three ties will be played in single-match format.

A Euro 2020 play-offs draw at 12:00 CET on Friday 22 November will decide which of Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary or Romania take the final place in Path C, and which three join Iceland in Path A.

The teams in each path will be ranked based on their overall 2018/19 UEFA Nations League position. First will play fourth and second will face third in the semi-finals, with the higher-ranked team at home. Friday's draw will determine which semi-final winner is at home in the final.

Semi-finals in Path B, Path D already determined

As we already know the identity of all four play-off participants in both Path B and Path D, the semi-finals in these two sections will be:

B: Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Northern Ireland, Slovakia vs Republic of Ireland.

D: Georgia vs Belarus, North Macedonia vs Kosovo.

When are the Euro 2020 play-offs?

The eight play-off semi-finals will be played on Thursday 26 March, with the four finals then taking place on Tuesday 31 March.

When and where is the Euro 2020 finals draw?

The Euro 2020 finals draw will be held at ROMEXPO in Bucharest, Romania, on Saturday 30 November at 18:00 CET.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?