NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Coronavirus: which states and cities of India have curfew?

Amidst the raging wave of Covid-19 cases across different Indian states, some serious restrictive measures have had to be taken to curb the spread.

A dog rests during a lockdown imposed by authorities after a sudden surge of COVID-19 coronavirus cases in Srinagar on July 13, 2020. (Photo by TAUSEEF MUSTAFA / AFP)

Some Indian states have resorted to implementing a temporary lockdown while others have decided to extend their ongoing lockdown and restrictions, as the number of cases of Covid-19 continues to rise. Karnataka's government, for instance, has announced the implementations of a complete lockdown starting on 14 July at 20:00 in Bengaluru city and rural areas, which will end on 22 July at 17:00.

Which states of India have a curfew?

India is experiencing a very draining battle with Covid-19 as the confirmed case numbers grow despite the lockdown imposed in several states of the country. These include: West Bengal, including Kolkata; parts of Bihar, including Patna; parts of Assam, including Guwahati; and parts of Kerala, including Thiruvananthapuram. Moreover, authorities in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Maharashtra have decided to implement a strict lockdown in an attempt to prevent further increases in cases.

Punjab Chief Minister's office has announced that the state's government has placed a complete ban on public gatherings, while the number of individuals in social gatherings now can't exceed five. Marriages and other formal social occasions have now been restricted to 30 people instead of 50.

In the meantime, the Uttar Pradesh government has decided to impose lockdown on weekends in its bid to control the rising number of infections, while Maharashtra - the most seriously hit state by the pandemic - is set to undergo a complete 10-day lockdown that involves municipal corporation limits of Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, and surrounding rural areas. This begins on 14 July and ends on 23 July.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?