Which 31 US states are on the New York travel quarantine list?

Individuals planning on travelling to New York, New Jersey or Connecticut from 31 other US states are now required to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days.

Which 31 US states are on the New York travel quarantine list?
Jose Perez / GTRES

Governor Andrew Cuomo updated New Yorkers on the state's progress during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic as the state, along with neighbouring New Jersey and Connecticut continue see a consistent drop in positive cases.

"Every day, we see the hard work of New Yorkers reflected in our numbers, which continue to steadily decline even as every part of the state has entered Phase Four of our phased, data-driven reopening," Governor Cuomo said. "New Yorkers accomplished that - 19 million people working together because they cared about each other. If we are not careful, we could end up back right where we started, and all that hard work will have been for nothing. We cannot go back to the hell we experienced three months ago, so we must protect the progress we've made and continue to be New York Tough."

Travel advisory

Given the hard work employed by the three east coast states, the number of US states that enforces travellers to observe a 14 day quarantine period when travelling to NY, NJ or Connecticut has increased from 22 states to 31 with Cuomo adding: "We are adding 10 states to the travel advisory - individuals coming from Alaska, Indiana, Delaware, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington must quarantine for 14 days.

Sin tituloPhoto by Thibault SAVARY / various sources / AFP)

The tristate area's new travel advisory now covers these 31 states: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.