Which NFL teams have never won the Super Bowl?

After 55 editions of the Super Bowl, there are a total of 12 franchises who are still to taste victory in the NFL championship game.

Which NFL teams have never won the Super Bowl?
Mike Ehrmann AFP

The New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers are the most decorated teams in Super Bowl history, having won the Vince Lombardi trophy six times each since the first edition of the NFL championship game was played back in 1967.

But which NFL franchises have never won a Super Bowl?

Still waiting for a Super Bowl victory

In all, there are 12 teams who are yet to win the Super Bowl. They are: the Atlanta Falcons, the Arizona Cardinals, the Buffalo Bills, the Carolina Panthers, the Cincinnati Bengals, the Cleveland Browns, the Detroit Lions, the Houston Texans, the Jacksonville Jaguars, the Los Angeles Chargers, the Minnesota Vikings and the Tennessee Titans.

Falcons blew 25-point lead at Super Bowl LI

Of these 12 franchises, the last to reach the Super Bowl was the Falcons, who suffered a devastating 34-28 defeat to the Patriots in overtime at Super Bowl LI - having been 28-3 ahead with two minutes remaining in the third quarter. It’s the biggest lead ever blown in a Super Bowl.

The Vikings and the Bengals have appeared in the most Super Bowls without victory, both losing the NFL showpiece game on four occasions.

NFL teams that have never featured in a Super Bowl

The Browns, the Lions, the Texans and the Jaguars are the only four NFL teams never to have made it to the Super Bowl.

The Philadelphia Eagles had never won a Super Bowl until February 2018, when they claimed a surprise victory over the New England Patriots at Super Bowl LII.

The last franchise to win first Vince Lombardi trophy

The most recent first-time Super Bowl winner came in the 2017 season, when the Philadelphia Eagles upset the odds to defeat the New England Patriots 41-33 at Super Bowl LII.