Trending topics Más temas

Eurovision 2021

Which countries have won Eurovision the most times?

Since the Eurovision competition began in 1956, some countries, like Ireland and Sweden, have delivered winners much more frequently than others.

Which countries have won Eurovision the most times?

Viewers around the world prepare to watch the final of Eurovision 2021 this Saturday 22 May. Since the competition began in 1956, some countries have delivered winners much more frequently than others. After a one-year hiatus, many are anxiously awaiting the final this year. The pandemic made 2020 the only year the competition was not held.

Which countries have won the most?


Artists and groups from Ireland have one Eurovision seven times. In 1970, Dana became the first Irish contestant to win.

Other winners from Ireland include Logan James who won in 1980 and again seven years later. James is the only competitor to have won the competition twice; the two songs performed by James that won him the competition were "What's Another Year" (1980) and "Hold Me Now"(1987). The two-time winner also wrote the song that won Linda Martin the competition in 1992, “Why Me.”


  • 1970 -- Dana
  • 1980 -- Johnny Logan
  • 1987 -- Johny Logan
  • 1992 -- Linda Martin
  • 1994 -- Paul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan
  • 1996 -- Eimear Quinn


The Scandinavian country of Sweden has won the competition six times. In 1974, ABBA was the first Swedish group or artist to win with their hit song “Waterloo.” The song later went on to become one of the highest-grossing singles in modern music history.


Luxembourg is one of three countries that have won the competition six times. Strangely, the country has not participated since 1993. Various individuals and groups within the country have proposed returning, but a program never materialized.

Which countries have competed the most times?

Germany is the only country that has competed in every single Eurovision competition since its founding in 1956. However, Germany has only won the competition twice, far fewer than other countries that have competed in few competitions over the years.

Sweden has competed sixty times and won six. France and the United Kingdom have competed in all but one Eurovision and both won five times.

France: Barbara Pravi – “Voilà”

Germany: Jendrik – “I Don’t Feel Hate”

Sweden: Tusse – “Voices”

United Kingdom: James Newman – “Embers”

Which countries made it to the finals after the first semi-finals?

The first semi-final held on 20 May saw performances from, Lithuania, Slovenia, Russia, Sweden, Australia, North Macedonia, Ireland, Cyprus, Norway, Croatia, Belgium, Israel, Romania, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, and Malta. The contestants from Australia, Ireland, North Macedonia, Croatia, Slovenia, and Romania were eliminated.

As for night two of the semi-finals, Albania, Serbia, Bulgaria, Moldova, Portugal, Iceland, San Marino, Switzerland, Greece, and Finland landed a stop in the finals.

Some of the most watched performances included Russia, Cyprus, and Serbia.

Eurovision 2021: how to watch

In Europe, the final will be broadcast through participating nation's national television broadcasting services with online and digital platforms carrying the broadcast.

Viewers in the US can follow the event via the official YouTube channel with the aid of a VPN service.