NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which country has won the most Concacaf Gold Cups?

Mexico and the United States go head to head this Sunday in the Gold Cup final but which nation has won the Concacaf tournament most?

USA's forward Daryl Dike controls the ball during the Concacaf Gold Cup quarterfinal football match between USA and Jamaica at the AT&T stadium in Arlington, Texas on July 25, 2021. (Photo by Andy JACOBSOHN / AFP)

Mexico go into this weekend's Gold Cup final against the USA with their sights on a ninth Gold Cup triumph. El Tri are the most successful team in the tournament's history, having won it eight times, followed by the United States with six titles and Canada with one.

What is the Concacaf Gold Cup?

Held every two years, the Gold Cup is the regional championship for Concacaf, the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football. Over the course of 15 previous Gold Cup tournaments, the USA have lifted the trophy six times (1991, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2017).

Mexico's eight titles came in 1993, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2009, 2011, 2015 and in 2019. Canada is the only other champion of the tournament, winning the title in 2000.

Gold Cup format changes

The tournament has been played since 1963 but was reformatted in 1991 to the competition it is today.

While Concacaf recognizes the champions of the old Concacaf Championship, the Gold Cup is considered the main and official tournament of the region and reestablished the championship count.

USA hosts tournament

The United States has hosted the event a total of 15 times with 2021 being the 16th time the United States has played host to the tournament in some capacity. Mexico has never hosted the tournament on their own but had joint tournaments with the US in 1993 and 2003.

Canada, Jamaica, and Costa Rica all held matches in various editions of the tournament but never as a sole host. The all-time leading goal scorer of the Concacaf Gold Cup is Landon Donovan with 18 goals.

USMNT at the Gold Cup

The USA have more wins in the Gold Cup than any other nation, going 65-9-9 all-time. They have gone an impressive 38-1-4 during the group stage and have advanced to the final on 11 occasions: 1991, 1993, 1998, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2017 and 2019.

Impressively, the USA have made it to the semi-finals in 15 out of 16 tournaments, missing out only in 2000.

This year's final sees the USA take on Mexico on Sunday in Las Vegas. Mexico will be seeking revenge after losing to the US in the final of the Nations League campaign last month.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?