NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many finals and titles do Manchester United have in the Champions League?

The Old Trafford side have won the trophy (European Cup/Champions League) on three occasions being the second most successful English side in the competition.

Fans walk as Manchester United's new signing Cristiano Ronaldo appears on a banner covering part of the exterior of Old Trafford stadium in Manchester, northwest England on September 10, 2021. (Photo by Oli SCARFF / AFP)

Manchester United first played European club football games in 1956 with their early foray into the world of European football overshadowed by the Munich air disaster in February 1958 when 23 people - including eight players and three members of the club's staff - suffered fatal injuries in the Munich Air Disaster. The team had been traveling back from a European Cup tie against Red Star Belgrade when their aircraft stopped in Bavaria to refuel.

Busby Babes

Sir Matt Busby, United coach at the time, faced with the adversity was forced to rebuild and built a new young team and the club tasted their first European Cup success in the 1967/68 season when goals from Bobby Charlton (two), George Best and Brian Kidd at Wembley gave England its first European Cup winning side against Portuguese giants Benfica.

Camp Nou joy

The Old Trafford club would have to wait to the end of the 20th century for a second taste of European glory (the competition now rebranded the Champions League) with a late and dramatic win over Bayern Munich at the iconic Camp Nou in Barcelona. With United trailing 1-0 heading into injury time, last gasp goals from Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer saw Alex Ferguson's men lift the title to the delight of the 50,000 United fans present.

2008 Moscow magic

After a tense game in a windswept Moscow against fellow Premier League giants Chelsea ended 1-1 at the end of full-time, the game ultimately went to penalty kicks where the 'Red Devils' prevailed with a 6-5 win after Dutch stopper Edwin van der Sar saved a Nicolas Anelka spot kick to secure a third night of maximum glory for the red half of the city.

2009 and 2011 disappointment

The 'Red Devils' progressed again to the final on two occasions since the Moscow triumph but on both nights came up against a Leo Messi inspired FC Barcelona side that were too strong for the English side. The 2009 final ended 2-0 at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome and the Wembley final in 2011 saw the Catalan side prevail 3-1.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?