MLB

How to watch, stream the 2021 MLB playoffs: TV, YouTube TV, fuboTV...

The 2021 MLB playoffs get underway on Tuesday, as the Boston Red Sox and the New York Yankees go head to head in the first Wild Card Game.

0
How to watch, stream the 2021 MLB playoffs: TV, YouTube TV...
Jayne Kamin-Oncea USA TODAY Sports

The Boston Red Sox and the New York Yankees kick off the 2021 Major League Baseball playoffs at Fenway Park on Tuesday 5 October, as the postseason returns to its usual, 10-team format after being expanded to 16 in the coronavirus-affected 2020 season.

Wild Card Games begin almost a month of MLB postseason action

The Red Sox and the Yankees face off in the American League Wild Card Game for the right to take on the Tampa Bay Rays, the 2020 World Series runners-up, in the best-of-five AL Division Series.

In the National League, meanwhile, reigning World Series champions the Los Angeles Dodgers go up against the St Louis Cardinals in MLB’s other Wild Card Game on Wednesday 6 October, with the San Francisco Giants awaiting the winner in the NL Division Series.

Beginning on Thursday 7 October, the Division Series also sees the Houston Astros play the Chicago White Sox in the AL, and the Milwaukee Brewers take on the Atlanta Braves in the NL.

The winners of the Division Series matchups will then meet in the AL League Championship Series, which gets going on Friday 15 October, and the NL League Championship Series, which begins on Saturday 16 October. The LCS is best of seven.

World Series: 26 October to 3 November

The American League and National League champions then go head to head for the MLB title in the best-of-seven World Series, which is scheduled to start on Tuesday 26 October and, if all seven games are needed, will run until Wednesday 3 November.

What US networks have the rights to the 2021 MLB postseason?

In the United States, the MLB postseason is to be aired on Fox, FS1, TBS, ESPN and MLB Network. Here’s a complete breakdown of which network has the rights to which game:

MLB postseason schedule

Wild Card Series

Tuesday 5 October

Yankees at Red Sox (8pm, ESPN)

Wednesday 6 October

Cardinals at Dodgers (8pm, TBS)

Division Series

Thursday 7 October

Game 1: White Sox at Astros (4pm, FS1)

Game 1: Winner of AL Wild Card Game at Rays (8pm, FS1)

Friday 8 October

Game 2: White Sox at Astros (2pm ET, MLBN)

Game 2: Winner of AL Wild Card Game at Rays (7pm ET, FS1)

Game 1: Winner of NL WC Game at Giants (9:30pm ET, TBS)

Game 1: Braves at Brewers (4:30pm ET, TBS)

Saturday 9 October

Game 2: Winner of NL WC Game at Giants (9pm ET, TBS)

Game 2: Braves at Brewers (5pm ET, TBS)

Sunday 10 October

Game 3: Astros at White Sox (8pm ET, FS1)

Game 3: Rays at Winner of AL Wild Card Game (4pm ET, MLBN)

Monday 11 October

*Game 4: Astros at White Sox (FS1 or MLBN)

*Game 4: Rays at Winner of AL Wild Card Game (FS1 or MLBN)

Game 3: Giants at Winner of NL WC Game (TBS)

Game 3: Brewers at Braves (TBS)

Tuesday 12 October

*Game 4: Giants at Winner of NL WC Game (TBS)

*Game 4: Brewers at Braves (TBS)

Wednesday 13 October

*Game 5: White Sox at Astros (FS1)

*Game 5: Winner of AL Wild Card Game at Rays (FS1)

Thursday 14 October

*Game 5: Winner of NL WC Game at Giants (TBS)

*Game 5: Braves at Brewers (TBS)

AL Championship Series

Game 1: Friday 15 October (Fox)

Game 2: Saturday 16 October (Fox or FS1)

Game 3: Monday 18 October (FS1)

Game 4: Tuesday 19 October (FS1)

*Game 5: Wednesday 20 October (FS1)

*Game 6: Friday 22 October (FS1)

*Game 7: Saturday 23 October (Fox or FS1)

NL Championship Series

Game 1: Saturday 16 October (TBS)

Game 2: Sunday 17 October (TBS)

Game 3: Tuesday 19 October (TBS)

Game 4: Wednesday 20 October (TBS)

*Game 5: Thursday 21 October (TBS)

*Game 6: Saturday 23 October (TBS)

*Game 7: Sunday 24 October (TBS)

World Series

Game 1: Tuesday 26 October (Fox)

Game 2: Wednesday 27 October (Fox)

Game 3: Friday 29 October (Fox)

Game 4: Saturday 30 October (Fox)

*Game 5: Sunday 31 October (Fox)

*Game 6: Tuesday 2 November (Fox)

*Game 7: Wednesday 3 November (Fox)

* If necessary

The Dodgers are the defending World Series champions.

What live-TV streaming services can I watch the MLB postseason on?

There are a few live-TV streaming platforms on which you can watch the postseason, although not every service carries all five of the networks that hold the rights.

DirecTV Stream

Price: Up to $85/month

Carries: Fox, FS1, TBS, ESPN and MLB Network

Check out DirecTV Stream

fuboTV

Price: Up to $76/month

Carries: Fox, FS1, ESPN and MLB Network

Check out fuboTV

Hulu + Live TV

Price: $65/month

Carries: Fox, FS1, TBS, ESPN

Check out Hulu + Live TV

Sling TV

Price: Up to $50/month

Carries: Fox, FS1, TBS, ESPN and MLB Network

Check out Sling TV

YouTube TV

Price: $65/month

Carries: Fox, FS1, TBS, ESPN and MLB Network

Check out YouTube TV

You’ll find a couple of useful guides on the merits of each live-TV streaming service here (courtesy of CNET) and here (courtesy of CBS).