NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

UFC

Poirier vs. Oliveira fight money purse at UFC 269: how much are they making?

Dustin Poirier willl go head to head with Charles Oliveira in Las Vegas on Saturday in a battle for the UFC lightweight championship belt in UFC 269.

Update:
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - DECEMBER 09: Charles Oliveira of Brazil and Dustin Poirier face off during the UFC 269 press conference at MGM Grand Garden Arena on December 09, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada.   Carmen Mandato/Getty Images/AFP
 == FOR NEWSPAPERS, INTERNET
Carmen MandatoAFP

Dustin “The Diamond” Poirier is set to challenge Charles “Do Bronx” Oliveira for the UFC lightweight championship belt on Saturday night at the T-Mobile Area in Las Vegas.

The clash between the two veterans promises to be an unpredictable and thrilling one, with the titleholder looking to lengthen his winning streak to ten, and the challenger hungry for his first unified crown.

Follow Oliveira vs Poirier live

Balanced matchup

Oliveira holds the record for most submissions in UFC history (19), while the American is ranked #1 in the UFC lightweight rankings.

Although the Brazilian holds the title, Poirier is favored to win the match, after defeating Conor McGregor two times this year- first in January, then in July. The Louisiana native has also won seven of his last fights, only losing to Khabib Nurmagomedov, the longest-reigning UFC lightweight champion.

UFC 269 fight purse

UFC has not yet officially announced the purse for the fight, but judging from their payouts in the past, both Oliveira and Poirier are expected to fetch hefty sums.

Poirier was reported to have earned more than a million dollars for his showdown against McGregor in UFC 264, while Oliveira’s fight against Michael Chandler in UFC 262 earned him an estimated $450,000.

Related UFC stories:

The Oliveira-Poirier matchup is not expected to have the same drawing power as recent fights featuring McGregor, who is number one on Forbes’ list of the world’s highest-paid athletes this year, but both fighters may still bring in anywhere between $500,000 and $1 million for the evening.

UFC 269: Charles Oliveira vs. Dustin Poirier

UFC 269 is set to start at 6:15 p.m. / 3 p.m. PT on Saturday, December 11. However, Oliveira and Poirier are likely to start their fight around midnight, depending on how long the earlier fights last.

  • Where: T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • When: Saturday, December 11
  • Early Preliminaries: 6:15 p.m. ET / 3:15 p.m. PT
  • Preliminaries: 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
  • Main Card: (PPV): 10 p.m. / 7 p.m. PT
  • Main event: 12 Midnight ET / 9 p.m. PT
Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?