NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which countries can I travel to from the United States without restrictions?

The new Omicron wave of covid-19 has sent countries rushing to raise barriers to prevent transmission.

People enjoy at Cha-am Beach, amid the coranavirus disease outbreak, in Phetchaburi province, Thailand, December 25, 2021.
Athit PerawongmethaReuters

Not withstanding the disruption to flights caused by covid-19 in recent days, there remains many countries that refuse entry to US tourists outright. The new Omicron wave has once again forced governments on the defensive, with one of the first measures being flight restrictions from affected countries. With the incidence rate of the virus so high in the US, many nations refuse entry from US travellers, unless they are a resident of the country in question.

This list is of course subject to change as governments are oft changing their rules and regulations  regarding travel. This recently happened with Israel, which closed its border with the US. While travel may be open to US passengers, other restrictions such as the necessity of vaccinations or completed covid-19 tests may be in place. Make sure to check the websites of the countries you want to visit for what you exactly need, lest you be left red-faced at airport check-in.

The CDC has recommendations on countries to visit based on their covid-19 levels.

Find the relevant embassy website here.


  • Botswana
  • Cabo Verde (Cape Verde)
  • Comoros
  • Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Egypt
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Cambodia
  • Dubai
  • India
  • Jordan
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates


Nearly every state in Europe requires a vaccine to enter, as well as a negative test.

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Andorra
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • European Union (all constituent states included)
  • Georgia
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Monaco
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

North America

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Curaçao
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Sint Maarten (shares island with the French collectivity of Saint-Martin)
  • St. Barts
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos


  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • New Caledonia

South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Uruguay

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?