Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How often do I have to re-apply for unemployment compensation?

Once your application is approved, you will start receiving benefits for a specific period, referred to as a benefit year. However, support will not last.

A person sits in Times Square, after New York City Mayor Eric Adams announced that homeless people deemed to be in psychiatric crisis can be involuntarily hospitalized, in Manhattan, New York City, U.S., December 1, 2022. REUTERS/Andrew Kelly

When you apply for unemployment compensation you will need to provide information about your employment history, reason for unemployment, and other relevant details. During the following 52 weeks, or benefit year, no extra checks need to be taken. It begins on the date you file your initial claim or application for unemployment benefits.

There is no need to reapply for unemployment compensation each week or month in this period. This changes at the end of the year. If you are still unemployed and meet the eligibility criteria, you will need to reapply for unemployment benefits. This involves submitting a new application and providing updated information about your employment status and circumstances.

However, limits for the amount of time unemployment is around 26 weeks on average, before recipients have to work before they can reapply.

States and territories unemployment benefits length

12 weeks: Florida*, Kentucky*, North Carolina*

14 weeks: Alabama*, Georgia*

16 weeks: Arkansas, Iowa, Oklahoma, Kansas*

20 weeks: Michigan, Missouri, South Carolina

21 weeks: Idaho*

26 weeks based on work history: California, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Flat 26 weeks: Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, New Hampshire, New York, Puerto Rico, West Virginia

* indicates the state periodically adjusts UI limit

This is just the period for the basic unemployment support, though there are other options available in individual states.