NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Low-income recipients to receive extra Social Security payments in June 2023

Here is an overview of individuals who will experience an increase in their monthly payments for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) this month.

Social Security benefits will increase in these states

Social Security benefits are most often associated with payments to retired workers. While those make up the vast majority of the tens of millions the Social Security Administration issues each month, retirees aren’t the only ones. The disabled and survivors also receive income from the agency as well as low-income individuals that qualify for Supplemental Security Income.

Certain people in the latter group of recipients will see an increase in their monthly checks starting in June. This is thanks to the complementary payment plan approved in 33 states across the nation.

READ ALSO: These are the days you will get you Social Security if born between the 11th and 20th

What are supplemental payments?

According to an article in Solo Dinero, Supplemental Security Income program additional payments are nothing more than state income that is determined by various entities and sent as an extra set amount every month. This increase is targeted at low-income recipients as well as care providers with the goal of supplementing the federal payment.

Because it is a supplement administered by state entities, the amount varies from state to state. For example, in New York the payment is an additional $87, while in Alabama the figure is around $120 dollars.

READ ALSO: What is the maximum benefit for someone retiring at 62?

In which states do Social Security benefits increase in June 2023?

The states that will increase checks for SSI recipients because of the supplemental payments are:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • South Dakota
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine, Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

In addition to the states listed, California, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island Vermont and Washington D.C also have supplemental payments. However, in these states the complementary extra is administered by the SSA itself.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?