NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

2023 TAXES

Tax deadline 2023: how to apply for an extension in California?

If you’re a California resident and were affected by the recent winter storms, you may qualify for an extension to file individual and business tax returns.

How to apply for an extension in California

The IRS and the California government have announced tax relief for residents who were affected by winter storms in recent months. The government is automatically extending the tax filing and payment due dates to Oct.16, 2023 for those who are qualified.

Residents and businesses in certain counties who have been hit by severe winter storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides, are eligible for the tax deadline extension, as announced by the IRS.

Counties which must meet normal established deadlines

The deadline extension does not apply to residents and businesses of the following counties, who must file and pay by the standard deadlines. If you are one of these people and need more time you will need to apply for an extension with the IRS and the California Franchise Tax Board by 18 April to avoid a late filing penalty. However, any unpaid taxes must be settled with both agencies by tax day to avoid penalties and interest accruing.

  • Lassen
  • Modoc
  • Shasta

The tax relief applies to deadlines on or after Jan. 8, 2023 and before Oct. 16, 2023. These include the 2022 individual tax returns and payments due on April 18, quarterly tax payments, and business tax returns which are typically due on March 15 and April 18.


Disaster loss claims

Taxpayers who have been affected by a disaster that was declared by the president also have the chance to claim a deduction for disaster loss when they file their 2022 tax return.

Upon filing their tax return, they should write the FEMA disaster declaration number at the top of their return in black or blue ink to call the attention of the Franchise Tax Board.

27 December 2022 (FEMA-4683-DR)
8 January 2023 (FEMA-3591-EM)
9 March 2023 (FEMA-3592-EM)

How do I request tax records destroyed in a natural disaster?

Residents who may have lost or seen their tax records damaged as a result of a storm or disaster can request copies for free. One must submit Form 4506, Request for Copy of Tax Return, or Form 4506-T, Request for Transcript of Tax Return, and at the top, write the correct Disaster Designation:

List of tax relief for disaster designations

If the Disaster Declaration is stated, the IRS will waive all fees associated with issuing a replacement copy of destroyed tax records.

Keep in mind that you should be prepared to explain how the disaster impacted you in the event the IRS contacts you on a collection or examination matter.

California counties eligible for tax relief

  • Alameda
  • Alpine
  • Amador
  • Butte
  • Calaveras
  • Colusa
  • Contra Costa
  • Del Norte
  • El Dorado
  • Fresno
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Imperial
  • Inyo
  • Kern
  • Kings
  • Lake
  • Los Angeles
  • Madera
  • Marin
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Mono
  • Monterey
  • Napa
  • Nevada
  • Orange
  • Placer
  • Plumas
  • Riverside
  • Sacramento
  • San Benito
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco
  • San Joaquin
  • San Luis Obispo
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Sierra
  • Siskiyou
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Trinity
  • Tulare
  • Tuolumne
  • Ventura
  • Yolo 
  • Yuba

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?