Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

FINANCE

What changes to the Florida minimum wage will we see from 30 September?

The minimum wage and overtime rates in Florida will increase starting September 30. Find out how this evolves for workers.

Update:
¿Subirá el salario promedio en Estados Unidos en 2024?
DADO RUVICREUTERS

The minimum wage in the United States has not increased since 2009. Currently, the minimum hourly pay at the federal level is $7.50; However, in some states, including Florida, it is higher.

Florida is one of the 30 states in the country that has a minimum wage higher than the federal one, and it’s a considerable difference. The minimum wage in the Sunshine State is $11, but it will increase starting September 30 thanks to the voters.

Minimum wage and overtime increase in Florida

On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved a state constitutional amendment for the local minimum wage to increase annually until it reaches $15 per hour on September 30, 2026.

Because Floridians voted in favor of the proposal, Amendment 2, passed by the state legislature, represented a change in the state constitution that allowed for gradual increases in the minimum wage, including an increase for this year. Starting September 30, the standard minimum hourly wage will increase to $12 in Florida. As well as this, the new overtime wage rate will simultaneously increase to $18 per hour.

For tipped employees, the minimum wage will increase from $7.98 per hour to $8.98 per hour. Meanwhile, the tip credit overtime rate will also increase to $14.98 per hour.

This is how the minimum wage will continue to increase in Florida

Amendment 2 establishes regular increases of $1 through 2026. The schedule of increases to the standard minimum wage is as follows:

  • 2023 – $12 and $8.98 for tipped employees
  • 2024 – $13 and $9.98 for tipped employees
  • 2025 – $14 and $10.98 for tipped employees
  • 2026 – $15 and $11.98 for tipped employees

Although the annual increase of $1 will only last until 2026, the minimum wage in Florida will continue to increase.

The minimum wage of $15 per hour will be in effect until 31 December 2027. However, starting in 2028, the minimum wage will change to indexed increases based on inflation with the objective of not affecting the purchasing power of workers.

States that will increase their minimum wage in 2024

Florida is not the only state that has increased its minimum wage this year or will do so in 2024. These states are also expected to increase minimum hourly pay next year:

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Snowfall
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • New Mexico
  • Rhode Island
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Washington
  • District of Columbia

Here are more details about the increases in the minimum wage in the United States for next 2024.