Gaming Club
Sign in to comment


Every Minecraft game in chronological order

Let’s take a look at the entire Minecraft franchise, which has a lot more games than you might think, to find out where they all are available.


Since its launch back in 2009,Minecraft has become a video game franchise capable of transcending the medium itself, being a title known worldwide even by those outside our beloved industry. So much so that Microsoft did not hesitate for a second in acquiring its creators, Mojang, in 2014, in an agreement with its founder, the controversial Markus Persson.

The original game is located no less than in the second place of best-selling games in history, second only to the undefeatable Tetris and with the third being GTA V, but still very far apart. So much so that the difference between the two is more than 50 million copies, which means that Rockstar’s sandbox game has a long way before they reach the astronomical figures of Minecraft.

This success has given rise to other experiences based on the license, some very peculiar and even with their own story at the hands of Telltale Games. With the recent launch of Minecraft Legends, an accurate approximation to the genre of strategy, a very complete and surprisingly broad portfolio of spin-offs of this highly successful license is now held by Microsoft, who have not made it exclusive to Xbox, so it can still be enjoyed on all available platforms.

Full screen

All Minecraft games, in order of release

Next we will take look at all the games of the Minecraft license in chronological order. Obviously there is no ideal order to play them, beyond the genre that best suits our tastes, since they do not follow a story or anything similar.

  • Minecraft Classic, May 17, 2009
  • Minecraft: Pocket Edition, August 16, 2011
  • Minecraft: Java Edition, November 18, 2011
  • Minecraft: Console Edition, May 9, 2012 (Xbox 360) and December 17, 2013 (PS3)
  • Minecraft: Raspberry Pi, February 11, 2013
  • Minecraft: Story Mode, October 13, 2015
  • Minecraft Gear VR, April 27, 2016
  • Minecraft: Education Edition, November 1, 2016
  • Minecraft Earth, January 15, 2020
  • Minecraft: Dungeons, May 26, 2020
  • Minecraft: Legends, April 18, 2023