Gaming Club
Sign in to comment

Respawn Entertainment

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor has multiple difficulty modes, including a new one

Respawn Entertainment has included a new intermediate difficulty option that fits between the Story Mode and the original’s standard difficulty level.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

The sequel to Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order expands on the original’s ideas and clarifies some points that did not quite work. Speaking to MeriStation, the director of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, Stig Asmussen, reflected on the need for the game to adapt to all types of players. For this reason, they have made the decision to add Padawan mode, which somehow serves as a bridge between the simplest option and the one that until now served as an intermediate.

As in the first installment, players can change the difficulty at almost any time, except for one situation: during the heat of battle. “We have a range of additional difficulties,” he said. “We have added Padawan difficulty, which is not as easy as Story [mode].

Smoothing the difficulty curve

The decision was made because in Jedi: Fallen Order there was a big jump in difficulty between the easiest mode and the next one, Jedi Knight, which was the normal difficulty. Asmussen has explained that the player can configure the game to their liking, whether it is a more expert profile or someone who prefers to enjoy the narrative in the comfort of their chair.

The difficulty modes are as follows:

  • Story mode
  • Padawan mode
  • Jedi Knight mode
  • Jedi Master mode
  • Jedi Grand Master mode
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

It’s been five years since Cal Kestis reconnected with the Force and survived his encounter with Darth Vader. Since then, the crew of the Mantis has had countless adventures, which continue in the novel Star Wars: Battle Scars, the prequel to Jedi: Survivor. Although it will not be necessary to read the book to understand the events of the sequel, this product provides some interesting background information.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor releases on April 28 for PS5, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S and PC.