NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Masters: who has won the green jacket the most times? What’s the full list?

In-form defending champion Scottie Scheffler is bidding to join an elite list of players who have won at Augusta more than once.

Paul Rudder
In-form defending champion Scottie Scheffler is bidding to join an elite list of players who have won at Augusta more than once.

The Masters is as prestigious in its nature as it is difficult to win. The green jacket that one is awarded for winning the tournament is perhaps one of the most recognizable sporting symbols, but which golfers have written their names into the pages of golfing royalty and how many times? Let’s take a look at the full list of those who have won it more than once, which world number one Scottie Scheffler is hoping to join after his triumph at Augusta National in 2022.

Who has won the Masters more than once?

Initiated in 1934, the Masters has been played on 85 occasions since its inception. In that time, there have only been 54 winners of the legendary green jacket. Why is that you ask? Simply because there have been a number of golfers who have managed to win the tournament on multiple occasions. The question, of course, is who have they been and just how many times did they win at the notoriously difficult Augusta National Golf Club? More over, who among those champions has won the most?

Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods: the cream of the crop

When it comes taming the notoriously difficult course at the Augusta National Golf Club, there is one golfer who stands above the rest and that is the ‘Golden Bear’ himself, Jack Nicklaus. Across a 23-year span, Nicklaus took home the green jacket on six different occasions. The first of those was in 1963 and the last in 1986. If you’re wondering,

Yes, Tiger Woods is next in line. Woods currently has five Masters titles to his name - the most recent coming in 2019 - and at 47 is only a year old than Nicklaus was when he won his final Masters tournament. However, Woods hasn’t committed to taking part this year and will likely leave his participation up in the air until the last moment depending on his physical condition; he suffered open fractures to both his tibia and fibula, as well as severe ankle damage, in a horrific car crash in 2021. For now, we’ll have to wait and see if he pitches up at Augusta, although his chances of ever winning it again appear to be almost non-existent.

Multiple Masters winners

In all there have been 17 men who have won the Masters on multiple occasions for a combined total of 48, with the other 37 champions having won the tournament just once. Here you can take a look at the complete list of multi-champions:

GolferMasters WinsYears Won
Jack Nicklaus61963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986
Tiger Woods51997, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2019
Arnold Palmer41958, 1960, 1962, 1964
Jimmy Demaret31940, 1947, 1950
Sam Snead31949, 1952, 1954
Gary Player31961, 1974, 1978
Nick Faldo31989, 1990, 1996
Phil Mickelson32004, 2006, 2010
Horton Smith21934, 1936
Byron Nelson21937, 1942
Ben Hogan21951, 1953
Tom Watson21977, 1981
Seve Ballesteros21980, 1983
Bernhard Langer21985, 1993
Ben Crenshaw21984, 1995
Jose Maria Olazabal21994, 1999
Bubba Watson22012, 2014

* The Masters was not played between 1943 and 1945 due to the outbreak of World War II.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?